.

.

Friday, November 30, 2007

[FWD: Halala Newsletter - Urban Reviews Highlighted for True To The Game II]





NEWS

Win a copy of How Strong Women Pray from Sisters Sippin Tea.

Check out the e-card for Blonde Faith
by Walter Mosley.

True To The Game II
by Teri Woods
"True To the Game II is a wonderful sequel to True To the Game. Teri Woods effortlessly continued the story of Gena. This story picks up right where the first novel left off so it doesn't confuse the reader."
www.urban-reviews.com

Grace After Midnight
by Felicia "Snoop" Pearson
"This is her story, her voice, and told the way she lived it: fast and fearlessly. Even though we've heard many coming up from the hood stories before, Pearson's story is gripping, fresh and honest, and she offers no excuses - she tells it as it was, without reservations."
EdgeProvidence.com

Online Resources
African American resources on the web

Sign Up for the Halala eNewsletters your inside source for information on our latest fiction and non-fiction titles.
Subscribe today!




Halala eNewsletter
Dear Readers:

Bonnie St. John has written a powerful book that is sure to create dialogue. How Strong Women Pray profiles women from all walks of life and their use of prayer. This Rhodes Scholar and Olympic skier has overcome many obstacles in her life including having her leg amputated when she was five, sexual abuse, the death of her father when she was 12, and divorce. Check out Bonnie's new Website at
BonnieStJohn.com.

The Books...
How Strong Women Pray How Strong Women Pray
by Bonnie St. John
Bonnie's amazing life story is interwoven with intimate reflections on prayer by inspiring women, given in interviews expressly for this book. Barbara Bush, Maya Angelou, Kathie Lee Gifford, Amy Grant, Kathy Ireland, Edie Falco, and Susan Taylor are among the 25 powerful women who share how they communicate with God and reveal to readers how they can do the same.
Read more
Excerpt
Grace After Midnight Grace After Midnight
by Felicia "Snoop" Pearson
Snoop was born a three-pound, cross-eyed crack baby in East Baltimore. The runt of the ghetto showed an early aptitude for drug slinging and violence and thrived as a baby gangsta until she landed in Jessup state penitentiary after killing a woman in self-defense. There she rebelled violently against the system, and it was only through the cosmic intervention of her mentor, Uncle Loney, that Snoop turned her life around
Read more
Excerpt
True To The Game II True To The Game II
by Teri Woods
TRUE TO THE GAME II will pick up where True to the Game left off- with one difference, Gena is now seeing a new guy named Jay. Little does Gena know that the man she has fallen in love with, so soon after Quadir's death, is his archrival, Jerrell Jackson. Unfortunately, Jerrell is determined to get his revenge against Quadir's crew and he'll start with Gena.
Read more
Excerpt
Blonde Faith Blonde Faith
by Walter Mosley
In his tenth Easy Rawlins novel, Walter Mosley writes with a grace and insight that few writers ever achieve. It is the clearest proof yet that Walter Mosley is "one of this nation's finest writers" (Boston Globe).
Read more
Excerpt

 
Copyright 2007 by Hachette Book Group USA
© and ™ Info | Privacy Policy/Your Privacy Rights

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

The Forthcoming: Relentless Aaron - Lady First

Cover Image
Relentless Aaron
Lady First
Available Now!
 
 
Spencer Lewis knows he doesn’t have many chances left.  He’s trying to stay off the streets, but bagging groceries in the neighborhood supermarket is far from doing the trick. When Tia Stern, an obviously well-off woman, saunters into the store, looking out of place and more beautiful than any other woman Spencer has ever seen, he goes out of his way to assist her. Tia takes notice, and since she is looking for a new personal assistant, she figures Spencer just might be the man for the job. The pay is more than he could dream and the hustler within sees this as a chance to make it into something even more. But when it quickly becomes clear that Tia wants an assistant who is personal in more ways than one, will Spencer be more than happy to oblige?

 

Urban Reviews - November 2007 Newsletter

 

Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter

November 2007- Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!




WE HAVE A BUNCH OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

Sporadically throughout the rest of November (after November 15th), we will send a message to the Yahoo Group members detailing what the giveaway is for that day! In that message, there will be a special email address that is specifically for that day's contest. All you have to do is send your name and mailing address to that specific email address to be placed in that day's drawing! You will have 24 hours (by 7am CST the following day) to enter and we will announce the winners that evening via the Yahoo Group as well as list the winners on the Contest Page of the site. You can only win ONCE for the month and the contest is restricted to residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our CONTEST PAGE!

Good Luck everybody!



ZOOBA.COM - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!




Tananarive Due talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her new novel 'Casangegra'
- Her collaboration wih Blair Underwood
- Her upcoming Horror book 'Blood Colony'
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much More!!!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Casanegra'
Tananarive Due


Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!

We've also updated the New and Upcoming Releases page for African-American Fiction, and the New Release page for Music!

We've added new features to our front page! They include a Book Excerpt of the Month, Hot Pre-Orders of the Month, Book Preview of the Month, Featured Author Site of the Month, and Featured Artist Site of the Month! Be sure to check those new items every month!

We have the Urban Reviews Top 15 Audio playlist as well as the Urban Reviews Video of the Month posted in the Media Center. We are still working on updating the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!

And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We made it over the Two Year mark, and hopefully we'll be around for another 50! ~LOL~

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!



         

    

Please welcome our newest addition to the Urban Reviews Team. Her pen name is Tazzyt2bossye and she will be contributing book reviews for the Urban Reviews website. She runs the gamut as far as types of books she likes to read. Please check out her bio on the About Us Page for more information!
WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!

The best way for us to gain additional exposure is to vote for our reviews on the Amazon.com website. We only ask that you vote for the reviews that you deem helpful (hopefully they all are, but you never know!).

Below is the link to a listing of the books reviewed by us.

PLEASE DO NOT VOTE AGAINST OTHER REVIEWS! We are not trying to build ourselves up by breaking down others. Thanks to all, and hopefully we can show the world that Urban Reviews is on top of the game!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com





Don't forget to join the HALALA newsletter to stay on top of all the African-American authors coming out from Hachette Book Group USA.



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. Shelfari is a relatively new service that is kind of like Myspace for books! You can send friend requests, post comments, join online book groups, and of course build your own shelf! (Radiah is about 20-30% done with her list, and there are already 500+ books listed!) Check it out...and don't forget to send us your friend request (Please edit your request with a personal note saying that you are from the Yahoo Group!)




Don't forget to CAST YOUR VOTE! in our Mini Poll on the front page of the website. This month we want to know what African-American Book Release you are eagerly awaiting this Fall.


Visit the website to tell us your educated guess!


And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com

We just completed our 28th month of existence, and we just climbed past 97,700 hits to the website (that's over 7700 hits in the last month!)

We THANK YOU for the continued support!

Info@Urban-Reviews.com
  

Tuesday, November 06, 2007

On The Line w/Radiah Hubbert - Nov 2007 - Tananarive Due

November 2007

Tananarive Due talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her new novel 'Casangegra'
- Her collaboration wih Blair Underwood
- Her upcoming Horror book 'Blood Colony'
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much More!!!

Monday, November 05, 2007

The Forthcoming: Darnella Ford - Naked Love

Cover Image
Darnella Ford
Naked Love
Available Now!

 
Thirty-two year old Adrian Cage has just jumped from the roof of the Landmark II building in downtown Chicago. With only twenty eight floors to work with, she has less than 60 seconds to tell you the story of her life.
 
Adrian has lived a life filled with breathtaking passion-but also deepest sorrow. Raised by her eccentric father until his senseless death, she fell into the hands of her cruel and merciless grandmother. Yet miraculously Adrian grows into a hopeful young woman who expresses her innermost feelings through her dream of being an artist. When she meets and falls in love with the wealthy Michael Keifer Cage, her life at last seems complete...but is it only an illusion?
 
Adrian's dream life quickly turns into a nightmare. Michael becomes a workaholic who sees their relationship as a formality. Her young son is "emotionally disturbed,"and Adrian stops feeling much of anything. Until a "gifted" music teacher enters her shuttered life.and she begins to live again.
 

An evocative and poignant tale of longing, love, and betrayal, Darnella Ford is back with her fiercest novel yet.

 


Click Here To Order Your Copy Today!

 

Friday, November 02, 2007

The Forthcoming: La Jill Hunt - Old Habits Die Hard

Cover Image
La Jill Hunt
Old Habits Die Hard
Available Now!
 

At After Effex, the baddest nail techs and make-up artists meet to work and share their stories. There’s Yaya, the diva of the crew, who thinks she’s finally found love with a blue collar man; Taryn, whose crush has a few secrets; Monya, who just wants to get her party on; and ambitious Camille. Together, they ride a rollercoaster of love, friendship, heartache, and all the drama in between.
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday, November 01, 2007

The Forthcoming: Darrell King - How Do You Want It

Darrell King
How Do You Want It
Available Now!
 
 
Sixteen-year-old Katrina Ricks, aka “Trina”, hails from Washington, DC’s most notorious and rugged projects. While experiencing the stark of poverty, she also endures molestation at the hands of her stepfather, while her mother works the night shift. Eventually, fear leads to the murder of her stepdad at the hands of a tormented Trina.