.

.

Thursday, May 15, 2008

The Forthcoming: Candice Poarch - Long, Hot Nights


Candice Poarch
Long, Hot Nights
Available Now!
 
Will A Spontaneous Encounter...
 
Detective Alyssa Claxton believes she's in control of her destiny, which is why she's finding Jordan Ellis so hard to handle. They spent one unforgettable night under the stars-and now the handsome businessman wants more. Lucky for him, Alyssa isn't exactly finding it easy to say no to his tempting offer of sweet seduction...
 
...End In Murder?
 
Now Alyssa has a perfectly good excuse for avoiding Jordan's hot pursuit. There's been a double murder on Paradise Island, and one of the victims is her cousin's husband, caught in a compromising position with a younger woman. Was it a crime of passion? Or does Paradise Island have a serial killer on its hands? When one of Alyssa's best friends becomes a suspect, she finds herself in a race against time with Jordan, trying to unravel the secrets behind these murders-before the killer strikes again and ruins her chance at happily ever after...
 
...Or Romantic Bliss?

 

 

CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

 

 
 
 

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

The Forthcoming: Suzetta Perkins - EX-Terminator

Suzetta Perkins
EX-Terminator
Available Now!
 
 
What happens to those who are left behind in the turbulent breakup of failed love and romance? A new novel from book club favorite, Suzetta Perkins.
 
The transition from despair to satisfaction is an emotional, and yet often hilarious road to bump along. Ex-Terminator brings a fresh view to life after divorce as four women and a man struggle to move beyond their feelings of loss, failure, and abandonment, in order to establish a sense of normalcy and discover who they really are again.Can new love be found, even while the old still lingers and haunts everyday thoughts and actions? As these brokenhearted people form a support group to shore each other up in the midst of their stormy lives, little do they know how much they will come to mean to one another, or how each one will be changed by the healing they discover.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

The Forthcoming: Wahida Clark - Payback With Ya Life

Wahida Clark
Payback With Ya Life
Available Now!
 
 
In the sequel to one of Wahida's most successful titles [Payback is a Mutha], old scores are settled and before long, new tensions arise.

Still recovering from the suicide of her best friend, Shan now pregnant by a married man is forced to make major decisions in her life. Ready to leave the fast life behind, Shan believes a move to Detroit will help her become a stronger woman-but someone wants revenge against Shan's brother and is willing to destroy Shan in the process.

Torn over his love for his sister and his desire to get back on top of the drug game, Shan's brother, Peanut knows the danger of the streets. Old beefs become new scores and before long, a turf war is raging. With the stakes as high as they've ever been, only a few people will be left standing-and Shan is determined to be one of them.
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, May 12, 2008

The Forthcoming: Lisa G. Riley - Simply Wicked

Lisa G. Riley
Simply Wicked
Available Now!
 
 
American actress Cassidy Hamilton accepts the role of a lifetime on a British television show, allowing her to pursue aristocratic British CEO Tony Carleton, a man she has wanted for years. Older sophisticated Tony has kept his own desires for the nubile actress in check. She is too young, too free-spirited, and as he's always believed, too dangerous for his soul.
 
Tempted by her nearness, Tony succumbs to her allure and begins a passionate affair with her while deluding himself that he's in control. But someone is stalking Cassidy, a man who will stop at nothing in fulfilling his twisted obsession. He makes London his bloody playground and Tony must protect the one woman he loves above all else - Cassidy.
 
As old secrets are revealed, Cassidy confronts the tragedy of her past while accepting the promise of a passionate future--with Tony.
 
 
 
 
 

Sunday, May 11, 2008

The Forthcoming: Dyanne Davis - The Critic

Dyanne Davis
The Critic
Available Now!
Anyone Can Write A Book. . .

At least that's what literary critic and talk show host Jared Stone thinks. After all how hard can it be to pen a romance novel? The women who churn those books are a bunch of empty headed, bored women, and the women that read that trash are even worse." It takes no skill to either write or read the dribble. Anyone with a weeks' vacation can do it. To prove his point, he's willing to walk the walk: by joining a local romance writer's chapter and cranking out a silly little novel. It should be easy once he penetrates the group and uncovers the formula for writing. And since it's so easy, he's sure he can finish in a single week, no more than two.
 
But That's Only The Beginning. . .

Toreas Rose has spent years crafting her novel, sweating through revisions and weathering rejections with the best of them. When Jared challenges her by promising he can finish a novel in a couple of weeks, she graciously steps aside, ready to watch the fun as he flounders through his personal learning curve at breakneck speed.
 
And Everything Has A Twist. . .

When Jared and Toreas match wits in a contest of the literary critic vs. the romance writer, no holds are barred. As challenges, insults and sparks fly between them things start to heat up. And quicker than you can crack the cover on a new book, the confrontation gets personal. So personal that they're creating a steamy subplot all their own. But will the ending be a literary tale of woe or a classic happily-ever-after?
 
A delightfully humorous tale of finding love.
 
 
 
 

Friday, May 09, 2008

The Forthcoming: Sean Chandler - Gospel of the Gun

Sean Chandler
Gospel Of The Gun
Available Now!
 

Jeremiah Irons, known as Judas among the Disciple Gang, has always ridden the outlaw trail with only a good horse and the inscribed pistols Heaven and Hell at his side. It isn't until he happens upon Lucif R. Shadows and his eleven that he is convinced of the error of his ways. With Jeremiah's addition to the gang, the twelve go to thirteen and the legend of the Disciple Gang begins. Sean Chandler brings the Disciple Gang to vivid life as they bring the worst kind of villainy to fruition, and a new kind of religious zeal upon the frontier. Each man in the gang assumes the name of a Disciple after the crazed Lucif Shadows begins to believe in the stories written about him, and soon after Jeremiah Irons discovers it might have been best to remain on his own. Accused of stealing money from them, the Disciple Gang turns on him in the streets of Tombstone, Arizona Territory. Fighting his way out of the trap laid for him, Jeremiah's travels land him in the town of Wewoka, Indian Territory where he unwittingly finds safety in the guise of a preacher. It is in Wewoka that Jeremiah begins to learn who he really is, and through the friendship of the townspeople, and especially the beautiful Hope West, a purpose for his life. Jeremiah's good fortune only serves to make it that much harder when the Disciple Gang learn of his continued existence. When the Disciple Gang arrives in Wewoka to exact revenge upon him, can Jeremiah forsake his outlaw ways or will he have to pick up the guns that made him a legend?
 
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday, May 08, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - May 2008 Newsletter


Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter  

May 2008- Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!




WE HAVE A BUNCH OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

All you have to do is wait for the special message to the group and then send your name and mailing address to the specific email address mentioned in that message! We will announce the winners via the Yahoo Group. You can only win ONE BOOK during the month and the contest is restricted to residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our CONTEST PAGE!

Good Luck everybody!




WHO WANTS TO BE A ROMANCE REVIEWER???

Click Here To Find Out How!


BOMC2 - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!





C. Kelly Robinson talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- His Christian fiction release 'The Things We Do For Love'
under the pseudonym Xavier Knight
- His thoughts about the book business
- What he has planned for the future
- His advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'The Things We Do For Love'
C. Kelly Robinson






Miasha talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her latest release 'Sistah For Sale'
- Her upcoming projects, including Never Enough
- How she got her start in the book business
- Her Thoughts On The AA Fiction market
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Sistah For Sale'
Miasha


Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!

We've also updated the New and Upcoming Releases page for African-American Fiction, and the New Release page for Music!

We have the Urban Reviews Top 15 Audio playlist as well as the Urban Reviews Video of the Month posted in the Media Center. We are still working on updating the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!

And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We made it over the Two Year mark, and hopefully we'll be around for another 50! ~LOL~

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!

  

     

     

     
We made it to 2008 and we are growing in popularity by the day! We reached our 2007 goal of at least 300 Yahoo Group members, we continued to bring you open and honest reviews, and we had dynamic contests! We will continue to stand out from the pack and bring you the hotness! Stay tuned for more! And be sure to check out (and bookmark) the ever-growing AA Fiction Upcoming Releases page! There are already over 400 titles listed for 2008!!!

WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!

The best way for us to gain additional exposure is to vote for our reviews on the Amazon.com website. We only ask that you vote for the reviews that you deem helpful (hopefully they all are, but you never know!).

Below is the link to a listing of the books reviewed by us.

PLEASE DO NOT VOTE AGAINST OTHER REVIEWS! We are not trying to build ourselves up by breaking down others.

NEW UPDATE!
A NEW WAY TO VOTE FOR US!



We have added a new link to every review on our review pages to make it even easier to vote for our stuff on Amazon.com! All you have to do is click the 'Vote And Comment Now' button to vote for the reviews you feel are helpful! It takes less than 10 seconds to vote for each of the reviews...so please take a few minutes to vote right now!!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com



Don't forget to join the HALALA newsletter to stay on top of all the African-American authors coming out from Hachette Book Group USA.



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. (Radiah is about 20-30% done with her list, and there are already 500+ books listed!) Check it out.




3 Chicks On Lit
BlogTalkRadio Show
7pm EST Wednesdays

Bookmark and Tune In!




Don't forget to CAST YOUR VOTE! in our Mini Poll on the front page of the website.

This month we want to know what R&B solo artist do you want to come back and drop an album in 2008?



BOOK EXCERPT OF THE MONTH!

Click The Book Cover
For A Full Excerpt of
Release Me

Click Here to Pre-order
your copy of
Release Me today!




HOT PRE-ORDERS


Pre-Order Your Copy of
Bad Girlz 4 Life today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
My Best Friend
And My Man
today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
Zane Presents: Honey Flava today!



And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com

We just completed our 33rd month of existence, and we just climbed past 127000 hits to the website (that's over 6000 hits in the last month!)

We THANK YOU for the continued support!

Info@Urban-Reviews.com