.

.

Monday, June 30, 2008

The Forthcoming: Dara Girard - Power Play


Dara Girard
Power Play
Available Now!


Mary was a little lamb...

Mary Reyland was fed up with being taken for granted, and ready to step on a few toes—while wearing a pair of sexy black fishnets to her next client meeting...

Till she discovered her inner vixen!

Edmund Davis enjoyed being in charge. That's why he chose to work with "mousy" Mary. But when a sultry, confident Mary strode into his office, he wasn't sure how to handle the challenge. And apparently the new and improved Mary wasn't going to settle for anything less than she deserved, in business or pleasure...


CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

Sunday, June 29, 2008

The Forthcoming: Sophia Shaw - A Rare Groove

 
Sophia Shaw
A Rare Groove
July 1, 2008
 
The Perfect Place...
 
Twenty-eight-year-old Simone St. Clair has a successful career as an on-air announcer in Atlanta, and an enviable romance with one of the city's most eligible bachelors. A former pro-boxer-turned-community leader, Kevin Johnson appears to be the prefect man. Yet Simone can't help feeling something is missing. In fact, she's never really been in love. But she tells herself she's just a romantic, dreaming of a man who can't possibly exist--until she travels to Jamaica for a friend's wedding.
The Prefect Man...
 
When handsome, easy-going Maxwell Harper meets Simone at the resort where they're both staying, he's smitten. And when they discover they are both on their own, they begin spending time together. A Jamaican living in Toronto, Maxwell has always played the field. But now he's ready to settle down with the right woman. As things become intimate with Simone, he feels she may be that woman.
The Perfect Passion

 

Simone is forced to choose between what should be the perfect man and what feels like the perfect love. In the process, she discovers that one of these men hides a dangerous secret, and he will do anything to protect it, including murder.

 

 
 
 
 

Saturday, June 28, 2008

The Forthcoming: Paula Chase - That's What's Up

Paula Chase
That's What's Up: A Del Rio Bay Clique Novel
Available Now!
 
 
Mina Mooney is about to discover that when you're at the top, the only place to go is down...
 
It's springtime in Del Rio Bay, and everyone's heading to the O.C. to catch the varsity cheer squad compete at the Extreme Nationals. Everyone's pumped, especially Mina Mooney, because making the elite squad has finally gained her entrance into the Upper Circle. Mina's psyched for the big show-and some unsupervised cuddle time with Brian. Best of all, her number-one enemy, Jessica, has shocked everyone by calling a truce. But little does she know that Jessica's peace offer is nothing more than a disguise for what she really has in store for Mina...
Spring break means all sorts of trouble for Mina's friends, too. Lizzie, whose focus has never strayed from the books, is boy crazy for the first time in her life. Kelly's decision to give ex-hustler Angel another chance just might backfire. And Jacinta is having a hard time breaking things off with Raheem-even when he does something utterly unforgivable.
Fun, fast-paced, and impossible to put down, That's What's Up! proves that when it comes to popularity, you better watch your back.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Friday, June 27, 2008

The Forthcoming: Diane McKinney-Whetstone - Trading Dreams At Midnight

Diane McKinney-Whetstone
Trading Places At Midnight
Available Now!
 
 
Fifteen-year-old Neena and her younger sister, Tish, are certain their mother will return, flush with the promise of a new man. But Freeda's disappearance on the cold February morning in 1984 soon stretches from days to months and from months to years. Raised by their stern grandmother Nan, the two sisters quickly learn to look after themselves, fiercely reinventing their lives in the wake of Freeda's absence.
 
 
Two decades later, at age thirty-six, Neena has moved away from Philadelphia and supports herself by blackmailing married men. When one of her stings goes terribly wrong, she decides to return to her childhood home. Unable to face her grandmother, Neena attempts to pull one last hustle on a prominent local lawyer. But when she learns that her younger sister has been hospitalized with pregnancy complications, she must decide how to come to terms with the woman who raised her. Reunited, Neena, Tish, and Nan each confronts her own memories of the past, and together reveal their dreams for the future.
 
 
Shifting seamlessly through time, Trading Dreams at Midnight is the story of three generations of women bound to each other by shared joy and pain. In the evocative prose that has become her signature, Diane McKinney-Whetstone captures in exquisite detail our lingering, ever-hopeful desires for redemption and rebirth--and reminds us of the possibilities the future may still hold.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday, June 26, 2008

The Forthcoming: Stacy-Deanne - Melody: A Novel


Stacy-Deanne
Melody: A Novel
Available Now!
 
 
Two stories of deadly passion intertwine in this gripping mystery by bestselling author Stacy-Deanne, who weaves a thrilling tale of love and death. Melody Cruz is certain her sister's new boyfriend, the wealthy, charming, and handsome Keith Taylor, has a dark past that he will do anything to hide. Wanting to protect her sister, Melody works to uncover Keith's secrets, not realizing that in doing so, she is sacrificing her own safety -- because Keith will go to any lengths to keep himself in control.
 
 
At the same time, a man named the "Albany Predator" has been brutally raping black women throughout the city, and Melody is convinced that her best friend is the rapist's next target. Detectives Brianna Morris and Steven Kemp are placed on the case, determined to bring this sadistic felon to justice. But when things couldn't get any more complicated, all evidence is turned around to reveal a surprising prime suspect.
 
 
Full of forbidden desire and unwavering strength in the face of danger, Melody is a chilling tale that will leave readers breathless as they navigate all the plot twists and turns. Struggling to survive until the end, the diverse cast of characters will be left questioning their loyalties, their passions, and how far they might be willing to go to protect the ones they love.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Wednesday, June 25, 2008

The Forthcoming: Selena Montgomery - Reckless


Selena Montgomery
Reckless
Available Now!
 
 
Independent, stunning, and smart, Kell Jameson has the life she's always dreamed about. A partner at a tony Atlanta law firm that represents famous-if guilty-clients, she's far from her days as a lonely orphan in rural Georgia. But one frantic phone call will bring her back to the place she's spent years trying to escape. The head of her childhood orphanage has been accused of murder, and Kell is her only hope for freedom.
 
 
From the first moment Kell meets Sheriff Luke Calder, tempers and attraction flare. Ruggedly handsome and a stickler for law and order, Luke finds Kell compelling. Unfortunately, she represents his prime suspect. Forced to work together, they dig deep into the town's scandals . . . but Kell has a secret of her own. She trusts Luke enough to fall in love-but does she trust him enough to reveal the reckless past she's worked so hard to keep hidden?
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, June 24, 2008

The Forthcoming: Nina Tracy - Twenty-Eight Days


Nina Tracy
Twenty-Eight Days
Available Now!



She wants to experience a lifetime, but only has Twenty-Eight Days.

Nina is a mother, a daughter, a sister and a friend, but that's in the streets. In the sheets she's what every woman is afraid to be. Vowing to herself that by the time she turns thirty-years-old she will have experienced everything she's ever fantasized about, with only twenty-eights days until her thirtieth birthday, Nina's got her work cut out for her. This true to life experience, kiss and tell tale is sure to leave you breathless and wondering could someone really experience a lifetime of fantasies in only twenty-eight days.

. . . And who says a woman should never kiss and tell? Twenty-Eight Days by Nina Tracy is the climax of the millennium!


CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

Monday, June 23, 2008

The Forthcoming: J.D. Mason & Victor McGlothin - Sleep Don't Come Easy

J.D. Mason & Victor McGlothin
Sleep Don't Come Easy
June 24, 2008
 
 
"The Lazarus Man" by J.D. Mason
When a young female city employee is murdered, the case brings together an unlikely team: an investigative reporter whose career is on the line, a lead detective who would rather work alone, and an elderly, delusional homeless man named Lazarus who frequents the shelter where the victim volunteered. Lazarus claims he witnessed the killing-though his hold on reality is questionable. But desperate times call for desperate measures, and with the detective at the helm, the trio soon unearths a shocking truth no one would have ever suspected.
"Tomorrow's Edge" by Victor McGlothin
Smart, sexy P.I. Vera Miles is an expert at finding people who don't want to be found. But her latest client is a rare, and possibly dangerous, exception: a handsome drifter with amnesia who believes he's killed someone-though he can't remember who or why. Is the man guilty of murder or innocent and in big trouble? With no clues, Vera takes a shot in the dark that sends her on a trail from the local diner to the medical examiner's office to the seedy digs of a street informant, all the way to the FBI. But as she gets closer to solving the mystery, Vera wonders if her client is better off without his memory.
 

 

CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

 

 
 
 

Sunday, June 22, 2008

The Forthcoming: Donald Welch - The Bachelorette Party

Donald Welch
The Bachelorette Party
June 24, 2008
 
 
Investment banker Nicole Lawson is about to marry her romantic equal: a gentle, handsome doctor with whom she has fallen madly in love. And her closest friends-all tight since high school-want to see Nicole go down the aisle in style. They come together to shower her with lavish gifts, good wishes, a hot stripper, humor that pushes the envelope, and plenty of cocktails.

It is shaping up to be a fabulous night-until their friend Tisha, who one of the women believes is being abused by her husband, surprises the group by showing up dressed to kill and ready to party. And soon they're in for even bigger surprises. The arrival of an uninvited guest suddenly turns the once lively mood into one of somber introspection. In time, everyone is sharing tears and fears, and shocking one another with stories none of them can believe they've managed to keep to themselves for so long. But the night doesn't end there.
 
Another knock at the door brings the deepest secret of all-one that will test the loyalties and wits of every tough and tender woman in the room.
 
 
 
 
 

Saturday, June 21, 2008

The Forthcoming: Debra Clayton - Joy And Paine


Debra Clayton
Joy And Paine

June 30, 2008


Hip-hop dancer, Joy Phillips, is still reeling from the after-effects of a failed engagement when she meets handsome, successful, Systems Analyst, Paine Michaels--a man on a mission to find his future wife. They are instantly drawn to one another. Nevertheless, Joy is a little hesitant about succumbing to her feelings, and giving love another try. Paine, however, is thoroughly convinced that the beautiful, reluctant dancer is destined to be his future bride, and wastes no time in initiating his plan to capture her cautious heart and make her his.

But when Joy is hand-picked to tour as a backup dancer for hip-hop recording artist, and known womanizer, Avery Houston, one seemingly innocent night on the town with the star spawns an unspeakable secret--a secret that could very well destroy a love that has barely had a chance to grow. Will Joy and Paine's fragile new love prove to be strong enough to withstand the crushing blows of the ultimate betrayal, or will it buckle beneath the weight of her terrible secret?

CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

Thursday, June 19, 2008

The Forthcoming: Angel Mechelle - Another Woman's Husband


Angel Mechelle
Another Woman's Husband

Available Now!


Bree Michaels is young, sexy, single and raising two children alone. As if being single weren t bad enough, Bree has a problem; she misses having that special someone in her life. It s been a while, but Bree isn t desperate or even looking for love, when things jump off. She never wanted to be someone s slide, and definitely never wanted to be the other woman . In Bree s mind she was a catch, wifey material. It was when she met Dre, her fine and married neighbor when all her self-control and morals flew out the window. Bree surprises herself by her willingness to compromise her soul to be with Dre. Things get hectic when Dre s wife Neecy begins to suspect the true nature of the friendship between Bree and Dre. Neecy goes crazy when she learns the truth. Neecy vows not to let Bree break up her family or take her man not without a fight.


CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

The Forthcoming: Geneva Holliday - Seduction

Geneva Holliday
Seduction
Available Now!
 
In Geneva Holliday's latest novel of lust and revenge, Seduction works both ways.


Mildred Johnson is the last woman on earth that gorgeous Tony Landry would dare to be seen with. That is, until Tony wants to pull a scam on the company where she works. In order to keep Mildred signing phony documents, Tony gives Mildred a taste of romance and keeps raising the stakes until he's eventually forced to propose. But when the big day arrives he skips town with the money he's stolen.
 

Heartbroken, Mildred takes a trip to Barbados where her "vacation" turns out to be a boot-camp style weight loss clinic! Soon she discovers a goddess that had been hiding beneath her homely exterior. And when she runs into Tony on the island, he doesn't even recognize the sexy fox standing before him. Little does he know that this fox has a plan for revenge that will leave him whimpering with his tail between his legs for a good, long time.
 
 
 
 
 

Tuesday, June 17, 2008

The Forthcoming: Kimberla Lawson Roby - One In A Million

Kimberla Lawson Roby
One In A Million
Available Now!
 
 
In a first novella by the New York Times bestselling author of the Reverend Curtis Black series, a wife and a husband receive a surprise that will change their lives forever.
 
 
Kennedi Mason thinks she's the luckiest woman on earth. She loves her job, she has a wonderful best friend, and she's been married for ten years to her soul mate. There's nothing she can think of that could make her life any better.
 
Then, one fateful day Kennedi receives a piece of news that will turn her world upside down. She's excited about it, and she knows that her husband, Blake, will be over the moon.  He has always dreamed of this one thing happening, and she can't wait until he comes home so she can tell him.
 
But when she sees Blake that evening, hehas a special announcement of his own.  It shocks Kennedi into silence and wipes the admission she was planning to make right out of her mind.  In an instant, her life and her marriage have changed, but not at all in the way that she had expected.
 
A poignant and satisfying story of hope, Kimberla Lawson Roby's One in a Million beautifully shows us the difference between what we think we want-and what we actually need-in order to be truly happy.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Monday, June 16, 2008

The Forthcoming: Delorse A. Brown - All Or Nothing

Delorse A. Brown
All Or Nothing
Available Now!
 
 
All Or Nothing a daring drama drizzled with deceit, deception and death that follow the trials and tribulations of two sisters, Loni and Lou Maze.
 
After the tragic death of their parents, seventeen-year-old Lou instantly finds herself the guardian of her thirteen-year-old sister Loni. After a night out on the town, in celebration of her eighteenth birthday, Lou slowly hits rock bottom, becoming a useless junky.
 
Mean while, neglect forces Loni to fend for herself, pushing her into the streets and leading her into the arms of B-Style, a low-life street hustler, and Rufus, a notorious pimp and murderer. After Rufus' false promises and B-Style's betrayal, Loni sets out for vengeance, determined to have All or Nothing, eliminating anything or anyone who gets in her way.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Sunday, June 15, 2008

The Forthcoming: Fiona Zedde - Hungry For It

Fiona Zedde
Hungry For It
June 24, 2008
 
 
Remi Bouchard has enjoyed more than her share of delicious trysts amidst the seductive sounds and glittering lights of South Beach. With good looks, limitless sex appeal, and the wealth and popularity that comes from owning the city's hottest jazz bar and restaurant, Remi can seduce just about anyone she wants. But lately, the allure of wild one-night stands and no-strings flings is starting to wear thin. Remi craves something more-and what Remi wants, Remi gets.
At her best friend's wedding, Remi looks across the crowd and finds exactly what she's been searching for-an intense, soul-searing connection. Now, on a journey of sensual exploration that will take her from decadent after-hours clubs to South Beach's most elegant nightspots, Remi engages in a tantalizing dance of seduction. But passion this deep has its dangers-especially when it means falling in love with the one person who should be off limits...
 

 

 
 
 

Saturday, June 14, 2008

The Forthcoming: Keshia Dawn - By The Grace Of God

Keshia Dawn
By The Grace Of God
Available June 24, 2008
 

When Gracie's fiancé, Dillian, suddenly, and without warning, walks out of her life leaving no indication as to why and then cuts off all lines of communication with her, she is left devastated and confused. She agonizes over his disappearing act, mainly because she just wants to know why. She feels she at least deserves that much. But when Gracie finally finds the answer she's been looking for, the betrayal and secrets involved turns her life upside down.

 

Even with the support of her family and friends, Gracie's emotions go from bad to worse once she realizes that Dillian is not the only link to the line of betrayal. It's then, by the grace of God, that Gracie is able to search for the strength to weather the storm, but will she be able to find it through all the thick dark clouds?

 
 
 
 
 

Friday, June 13, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - June 2008 Newsletter

 

Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter

June 2008- Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!




WE HAVE A BUNCH OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

All you have to do is wait for the special message to the group and then send your name and mailing address to the specific email address mentioned in that message! We will announce the winners via the Yahoo Group. You can only win ONE BOOK during the month and the contest is restricted to residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our CONTEST PAGE!

Good Luck everybody!




BOMC2 - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!





Kimberla Lawson Roby talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her newest release 'One In A Million'
- Her future plans for Reverend Curtis Black
- Her thoughts on the ever-changing AA Fiction market
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'One In A Million'
Kimberla Lawson Roby






Karen V. Siplin talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her newest release 'Whiskey Road'
- Her thoughts about the book business
- Her upcoming projects
- Her use of multi-racial characters
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Whiskey Road'
Karen V. Siplin


Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!

We've also updated the New and Upcoming Releases page for African-American Fiction, and the New Release page for Music!

We have the Urban Reviews Top 15 Audio playlist as well as the Urban Reviews Video of the Month posted in the Media Center. We added more excerpts awhile ago, but we will be working on updating more on the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!

And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We're almost at our Three Year Anniversary! Stay tuned for new features, more giveaways, and a site renovation in July 2008!

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!

  

     

     

     
We are nearing our THREE YEAR ANNIVERSARY and we are growing in popularity by the day! We reached our 2007 goal of at least 300 Yahoo Group members, and are fast approacing 500 subscribers! We will continue to stand out from the pack and bring you the hotness! Stay tuned for more! And be sure to bookmark the ever-growing AA Fiction Upcoming Releases page! There are already over 550 titles listed for 2008 on our Upcoming Releases page and Recent Releases page!!!
 
 
WE HAVE A NEW EXCLUSIVE ROMANCE REVIEWER!

Congrats goes out to Tenecia L. of TX who was selected as our new Romance reviewer! You can look forward to her reviews starting in July!


 
WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!


We have added a new link to every review on our review pages to make it even easier to vote for our stuff on Amazon.com! All you have to do is click the 'Vote And Comment Now' button to vote for the reviews you feel are helpful! It takes less than 10 seconds to vote for each of the reviews...so please take a few minutes to vote right now!!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. Check it out.




Don't forget to CAST YOUR VOTE! in our Mini Poll on the front page of the website.

What R&B group do you wish was still around?

GET YOUR VOTE IN NOW!!!!



BOOK EXCERPT OF THE MONTH!

Click The Book Cover
For A Full Excerpt of
Divine Match-Up

Click Here to Order
your copy of
Divine Match-Up today!





HOT PRE-ORDERS


Pre-Order Your Copy of
Still Dirty today!





Pre-Order Your Copy of
Money Over Men today!





Pre-Order Your Copy of
Keep Your Enemies Closer today!




And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com


We just completed our 35th month of existence, and we just climbed past 133800 hits to the website (that's over 6800 hits in the last month!)


We THANK YOU for the continued support! We truly do thank everyone for continuing to be subscribers.  Be sure to check out our LUCKY 7 contests in July for your chance to win SEVEN BOOKS!  You'll have 4 chances throughout the month to win.  We will also have our regular contests as well. 

GET READY!!!!!!!

It's time to give back to the ones that made us who we are!



If you have any questions, suggestions, notice something incorrect on the site, have a concern, want to advertise, want to learn how to send your book in for a possible review, or just want to give us a shout out, send us a message! 

Info@Urban-Reviews.com