.

.

Sunday, August 31, 2008

The Forthcoming: Angie Daniels - Careful Of The Company You Keep

Angie Daniels
Careful Of The Company You Keep
Available Now!


From the acclaimed author of Trouble Loves Company comes a smart, sexy, heartfelt new novel about friendship, love, lust-and a whole lot of trouble in between.


After finding her husband in a compromising position, romance author Renee Moore goes back to her hometown, hoping to start over. But once again, she finds herself looking for love in all the wrong places. To make matters worse, just as she decides a healthy relationship may not be her destiny, her ex delivers shocking news that could change her life forever.

Practical nurse Danielle Brooks' professional life is picture perfect, but her personal life is a mess. Her daughter is about to give birth to a baby believed to have been fathered by Danielle's ex. In an attempt to mend her shattered heart, Danielle has been dating Calvin Cambridge, a truly nice guy. But when Calvin proposes, Danielle wants to be sure she is ready to commit. She enlists Renee to test his fidelity, but when the seduction goes too far, all their relationships may be in jeopardy.

Meanwhile, their best friend is getting married, and she is counting on Renee and Danielle to help her plan the wedding-whether they are speaking to each other or not. But with Renee now being threatened by a mystery woman, and Danielle facing her most serious crisis yet, they can not help wondering if it is all going to get worse before it gets better.

As things come to a head in each woman's life, there is a whole lot of praying going on-and Renee and Danielle soon realize they are blessed in spite of it all-with faith, second chances-and each other.




Saturday, August 30, 2008

The Forthcoming: Sister Souljah - Midnight: A Gangster Love Story

Sistah Souljah
Midnight: A Gangster Love Story
November 2008
 
 
Midnight is a hustler-but one with a mindset and a mission. A tall, dark, and handsome hero in his own way, Midnight would, in mainstream American society, be characterized as a threat and dismissed as a criminal. But in her beautiful, captivating style, Sister Souljah reveals the heart of a man that readers will love and cheer for until the very end. When Midnight came to America from the Sudan, he was just seven years old with a mother who spoke no English and a baby sister on the way. Midnight has to grow up fast on the violent and dangerous streets of Brooklyn. Amidst the poverty and lawlessness, Midnight must find some way to survive, thrive, and defend his family and way of life-no matter what it takes.
 
 
 
 

Friday, August 29, 2008

The Forthcoming: K. Elle Collier - My Man's Best Friend

K. Elle Collier
My Man's Best Friend
Available Now!
 
 
What do you do when your man's best friend is a woman, and a drop-dead, gorgeous one at that? Kai Edwards has a big problem when Todd Daniels' best friend, Alana Brooks, moves to Chicago and straight into the middle of their perfect life. To compete with the new threat and keep her man, Kai devises a deliciously devious plan, but it takes an unexpected turn when she falls hard for Alana. What unfolds is an unconventional passion triangle that turns Kai's once normal life upside down forever. In this witty, intriguing first novel, K. Elle Collier pushes the envelope to discover intimacy in the most unconventional situations.
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday, August 28, 2008

The Forthcoming: Dwayne S. Joseph - Home Wrecker


Dwayne S. Joseph
Home Wrecker
Available Now!


In Dwayne S. Joseph's provocative and sexy new novel Home Wrecker, a woman named Marlene finds herself falling for the man who's life she's been paid to ruin.

CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!


CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!


Wednesday, August 27, 2008

The Forthcoming: Shirley Hailstock - Last Night's Kiss

Shirley Hailstock
Last Night's Kiss
Available Now!


The heart knows what it wants—accepting it is another story...


Supermodel Rosa Clayton has the glamorous lifestyle most women envy. She’s traveled the world modeling, and she’s made a fortune doing it. But Rosa is always on the go, and she needs a break. So she’s spending the summer in small-town Montana, with its fresh air, incredible sunrises, endless skies—and guaranteed heartbreaker Adam Osborne.

A former television news journalist, Adam has returned to Montana to settle down to a life of quiet simplicity, away from the harsh lights of the city. It’s a plan with little room for a high-maintenance diva like Rosa, and he lets her know it in no uncertain terms. But Rosa finds his resolve only makes him more irresistible—and mysterious…

Still, getting past Adam’s barriers is easier said than done. Only a chance encounter with someone close to Adam could turn things around. Now, if the two could only get out of their own way, something interesting might happen in the sleepy town of Waymon Valley...




Tuesday, August 26, 2008

The Forthcoming: Treasure E. Blue - Keyshia And Clyde


Treasure E. Blue
Keyshia And Clyde
August 26, 2008


Treasure E. Blue-acclaimed author of Harlem Girl Lost and A Street Girl Named Desire-is back with a heartbreaking urban love story of two star-crossed lovers up against the dirtiest dealer Harlem has ever seen.

Knocked up by a Southern preacher, Keyshia is sent to live with her aunt in New York, but after a horrific act of violence, the timid young woman becomes ice-cold-turning tricks and finding comfort in a crack vial.

Clyde and his two brothers find themselves living with a family friend after their mother is shot by their own father-leaving her institutionalized and unable to communicate, and him behind bars. Clyde's older brother leads a decent life, working as a bank manager and trying to keep Clyde off the streets, but Clyde's younger bro is the coldest killer in Harlem and takes every opportunity to involve Clyde in his infamous robberies-turned-blood baths.

When Keyshia and Clyde meet, they are instantly drawn to each other. Forced to pay back a large sum of cash to one nasty Harlem kingpin or risk the lethal consequences, Keyshia and Clyde use their tight game and their loyalty to pull off the impossible. And when Clyde is falsely accused of a bank hit, Keyshia vows to stick by her man-no matter the cost.




Friday, August 22, 2008

The Forthcoming: Daaimah S. Poole - A Rich Man's Baby


Daaimah S. Poole
A Rich Man's Baby
August 26, 2008!

From Essence bestselling author Daaimah S. Poole comes the sultry tale of two women who discover that the fastest way out of debt is to have a rich man's baby...

Tanisha Butler doesn't want to spend the rest of her thirties as a lonely single mother, just like Adrienne Sheppard is sick of wasting her twenties without a man in sight. No, these sistahs want money and security and they want it now. So they come up with the perfect plan: have a rich man's baby and walk away with a fat chunk of his cash for child support. They won't have to work or play wifey, and they'll get to enjoy life while they're still young.Before long, Adrienne scores big by making an NFL star a proud papa. Tanisha snags a pro basketball player in Europe. Their plan is working-until Adrienne's man finds out about all the other rich athletes in her past. And Tanisha's man comes back to the U.S. only to discover that his ex, Dionne, suddenly wants him back. Now Dionne is dead-set on getting rid of Tanisha, while Tanisha is determined to hang on to her baby's rich daddy. All three are about to find out that getting exactly what you want can be a very dangerous game...


CLICK HERE TO READ A FULL EXCERPT NOW!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER YOUR COPY TODAY!

Thursday, August 21, 2008

The Forthcoming: Mary Monroe - She Had It Coming

Mary Monroe
She Had It Coming
August 26, 2008!




New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe delivers a powerful and provocative new novel about one woman's search for love in a world where secrets don't always stay hidden, friends don't always have our backs, and the choices we make in one rash moment can change everything...

If there's one thing Dolores Reese knows, it's how to keep a secret. It's a skill she learned early in life, watching her best friend Valerie Proctor do whatever it took to protect her family from her violent stepfather. Back then, Dolores was in foster care-just like Floyd Watson, a local boy who intrigues Dolores from the moment they meet. Even in high school, Dolores knows with certainty that she and Floyd are soul mates. When one bad decision sends an innocent Floyd to prison for life, Dolores pays clandestine visits and-out of a mix of love and pity-promises to stick by him.


While Floyd's world stands still, Dolores's horizons open up in exciting new ways when she lands a position working for a cruise line. There, she meets Paul Dunne, an accomplished businessman who promises her the kind of future she's always wanted-the kind she once imagined having with Floyd. Dolores is sure she can continue to visit Floyd without revealing that she's now married to another man. But when Floyd is suddenly freed on new evidence, Dolores is torn and makes a fateful decision-to live a double lie, devoting herself to two different husbands in two different cities.


With Valerie as her confidante and accomplice, Dolores hopes to pull off the ultimate deception. But into this risky situation comes another man, one Dolores can't resist. And if she isn't careful, Dolores just might find out what happens when love, dishonesty, and dangerous jealousy collide...





Wednesday, August 20, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - August 2008 Newsletter


Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter

August 2008Three Year Anniversary Edition - Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!




WE HAVE A BUNCH OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

All you have to do is wait for the special message to the group and then send your name and mailing address to the specific email address mentioned in that message! For the Lucky 7 contests, you have to answer 7 questions correctly within a 24 hour period to be eligible to win. We will announce the winners via the Yahoo Group. You can only win once during the month for all contests. The contests are restricted to Yahoo Group subscribers who are residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our CONTEST PAGE!

Good Luck everybody!




BOMC2 - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!





Angela Benson talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her newest release 'Up Pops The Devil'
- Her upcoming project
- Her literary journey
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- Her different writing styles
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Up Pops The Devil'
Angela Benson




Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!


We have a new link to take you straight to the upcoming releases page for books! Be sure to bookmark BLACKBOOKRELEASES.COM now! We will update the New Release page for Music soon!



We have a new blog dedicated to sharing our opinions on the good, the bad, and the ugly in regards to the AA Fiction market! Be sure to bookmark LITERARY SOAPBOX now! We will post a new topic every week, so be sure to check that out and chime in!


We have updated the Urban Reviews R&B playlist as well as posted the Urban Reviews Video of the Month in the Media Center. We added more excerpts awhile ago, but we will be working on updating more on the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!



And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We've made it to our Three Year Anniversary!

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!


     

    

    
We are celebrating our THREE YEAR ANNIVERSARY and we are growing in popularity by the day! We reached our 2007 goal of at least 300 Yahoo Group members, and are currently at over 500 subscribers!

We will continue to stand out from the pack and bring you the hotness! Stay tuned for more! And be sure to bookmark the ever-growing AA Fiction Upcoming Releases page! (don't forget... you can also access this page by visiting BLACKBOOKRELEASES.COM

There are already over 650 titles listed for 2008 on that page as well as the Recent Releases page!!!



WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!



We have added a new link to every review on our review pages to make it even easier to vote for our stuff on Amazon.com!

All you have to do is click the 'Vote And Comment Now' button to vote for the reviews you feel are helpful! It takes less than 10 seconds to vote for each of the reviews...so please take a few minutes to vote right now!!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. Check it out.




Don't forget to CAST YOUR VOTE! in our Mini Poll on the front page of the website.

How much do you 'pre-order' in regards to books?



BOOK EXCERPT OF THE MONTH!

Click The Book Cover
For A Full Excerpt of
Drama High: Courtin' Jayd

Click Here to Order
your copy of
Drama High: Courtin' Jayd today!




HOT PRE-ORDERS


Pre-Order Your Copy of
She Had It Coming today!





Pre-Order Your Copy of
Million Dollar Deception today!





Pre-Order Your Copy of
My Little Secret today!



And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com

We just completed our 37th month (THREE YEARS) of existence, and we just climbed past 146400 hits to the website (that's over 6200 hits in the last month!)

We THANK YOU for the continued support!


Info@Urban-Reviews.com
  


 

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

The Forthcoming: Maureen Smith - Secret Agent Seduction

Maureen Smith
Secret Agent Seduction
Available Now!
 
 
Born to live a life of intrigue and adventure, beautiful Secret Service agent Lia Charles has never met a challenge she can't overcome. That is, until she receives her latest assignment-rescue the brilliant, boldly charismatic and bona fide hottie Armand Magliore, a revolutionary leader of a war-ravaged Caribbean republic. Lia will need all of her special-ops training and all of her professional objectivity to get Armand to safety, and to keep their relationship from heating up. Even so, it isn't long before Lia discovers that extracting the handsome revolutionary from the dark, treacherous jungles will be the easy part. Guarding her heart from a darkly handsome rebel will test her to her limits.