.

.

Sunday, December 28, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - Best Reviewed Books of 2008


Best Reviewed Books of 2008

Below is a listing of books reviewed on the Urban-Reviews.com website that we noted as being the best of the best!

*Visit our Archive Page to find the corresponding AA Fiction page on our site.



5 out of 5 'Top Shelf Rating' 'Classic'

(This is a comprehensive list of those titles...in no particular order.)




Not His Type - Chamein Canton
A Preacher's Passion - Lutishia Lovely
Red Light Special - Risque
Against The Grain - Freeze
Love Lost Da Game - Reginald Rose
Bite The Bullet - L. A. Banks
A Different Kind Of Blues - Gwynne Forster
Beneath The Bruises - Dywane D. Birch
Erotic City - Pynk
Keep The Faith - Faith Evans with Aliya S. King
Corporate Corner Boyz - Anya Nicole
Murder on the Down Low - Pamela Samuels Young
A Sticky Situation - Kiki Swinson
Nan: The Game of Trife - Moses Miller
When A Man Loves A Woman - LaConnie Taylor-Jones
Street Legends - Seth Ferranti
In Those Jeans - Chantel Jolie
The American Journey of Barack Obama - The Editors of Life Magazine
Gutter - K'wan
Keyshia And Clyde - Treasure E. Blue
Careful of the Company You Keep - Angie Daniels
Whip Appeal - Meta Smith
Indecent Proposal - A.C. Arthur
Thug Politics - Dutch
Life Is Never As It Seems - JJ Michael
My Man's Best Friend - K. Elle Collier
Prison Stories - Seth Ferranti
Who's Loving You - Mary Morrison
Jewel - Beverly Jenkins
Can I Get A Witness - ReShonda Tate Billingsley
Betrayal: A Black Door Novel - Velvet
Guarding His Body - A.C. Arthur
Protect And Serve - Gwyneth Bolton
Shameless Hoodwives - Meesha Mink and De'nesha Diamond
Shortie Like Mine - Ni-Ni Simone
Just Too Good To Be True - E. Lynn Harris
The Shadows: A Vampire Huntress Legend - L. A. Banks
Long, Hot Nights - Candice Poarch
That's What's Up - Paula Chase
Promiscuous - R. Moreen Clarke
Daughter Denied - Alretha Thomas
Like Never Before - Sylvia Lett
Better Than - Leslie Esdaile
You, Me and He - Brooke Green
Payback With Ya Life - Wahida Clark
Shyt List - Reign
Never As Good As The First Time - Mari Walker
Running From Mercy - Terra Little
Pleasure - Eric Jerome Dickey
Jezebel - Jacquelin Thomas
Something He Can Feel - Marissa Monteilh
Murder Mayhem And A Fine Man - Claudia Mair Burney
Death, Deceit And Some Smooth Jazz - Claudia Mair Burney
Things In Between - Nathanial Portis
Unexpected Interruptions - Trice Hickman
Something On The Inside - T. N. Williams
Reasonable Doubt - Mark Anthony
Passin' by Karen E. Quinones Miller
Desperate Hoodwives - Meesha Mink And De'nesha Diamond
Hot Like Fire - Niobia Bryant
Insatiable - Allison Hobbs
The Climax (Insatiable II) - Allison Hobbs
Something On The Side - Carl Weber
On The Line (Anthology) - Donna Hill
The Darkness - L. A. Banks
Conception - Kalisha Buckhanon
The Sweetest Taboo - Risque
In Too Deep - Dwayne S. Joseph
Kissed By The Devil - Dashawn Taylor
Blood of My Brother - Zoe and Yusuf T. Woods


4.5 OUT OF 5 'NEAR CLASSIC'

(There are our honorable mentions since they are very close to a top shelf rating!)


Floss - Monica Marie Jones
16 Isn't Always Sweet - Cassandra Carter
Big Juicy Lips - Allison Hobbs
A Rich Man's Baby - Daaimah S. Poole
Holy Ghost Corner - Michele Andrea Bowen
Things Forbidden - Maryam Diaab
Gaming For Love - Nancy Weaver
Don't Ever Tell - Brandon Massey
The Legacies - Michelle Larks
Trading Dreams At Midnight - Diane McKinney-Whetstone
A Rare Groove - Sophia Shaw
Too Little, Too Late - Victoria Christopher Murray
Show And Tell - Niobia Bryant
Whiskey Road - Karen V. Siplin
Up All Night - Delilah Dawson
Once Upon A Project - Bettye Griffin
Whatever Gets You Through The Night - Teri Denine
Deacon's Circle - Derek Vitatoe
From The Extreme - Renea Collins
Happily Ever Now - Nicole S. Rouse
After The Dance - Lori Johnson
The Liar's Truth - Ty B. Moore
Tappin' On Thirty - Candice Dow
Lost Hours - D. K. Gaston
Sexual Exploits of a Nympho Part II - Richard Jeanty
From My Soul To Yours - Dywane D. Birch
Sex In The Sanctuary - Lutishia Lovely
Love Like Hallelujah - Lutishia Lovely


Leave your thoughts on your favorite reads from 2008!!!!


Congrats to all the phenomenal authors that excelled to the highest level this year!

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

The Forthcoming: Terra Little - Where There's Smoke

Terra Little
Where There's Smoke
Available December 30, 2008
 
 
In Where There's Smoke, Alec Avery gets an unwelcome blast from his drug-dealing, street-running past that turns his life upside down. Back in the day, he was known as "Smoke" and Anne Phillips was one of his customers. So how did they end up with a teenage son together? You do the math. Dollars make sense, but Anne didn't always have the money to pay for what she wanted. Now Alec is paying the price.

These days he's a military vet and a well-respected high school teacher. Just about the last thing he expects to encounter is a son he never knew he had and a bunch of foolishness that he thought he was done with. His son is out of control, experimenting with drugs and running with a rough crowd, and the last thing he expects to encounter is a long-lost father who is hell-bent on making his presence felt in a very meaningful way.

Before long, Smoke has no choice but to come out of hibernation to put some heads to bed, starting with the thugs who don't want to turn his son loose (see book cover graphic). They didn't count on old school meeting new school, which is their first mistake. And Alec didn't count on drooling over the woman his son's mother has become, but whether or not he's making a mistake remains to be seen.

Old school contemporary fiction meets new school urban fiction between the sheets, and the resulting twisted flame won't be easily contained.
 
 
 
 
 

Romance Lovers! Free Shipping until 12/31 - Eharlequin.com

 

Happy Holidays from the eHarlequin.com family to yours! To celebrate this special time of year, the shipping charges are on us-automatically get FREE shipping* on any purchase until December 31!
 
 
Happy Reading!
 
 

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - November / December 2008 Newsletter

 

Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter

November/December 2008- Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!


Note: There are no new Music reviews for November/December!



WE HAVE A BUNCH OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

All you have to do is wait for the special message to the group and then send your name and mailing address to the specific email address mentioned in that message! We will announce the winners via the Yahoo Group. You can only win once during the month for all contests. The contests are restricted to Yahoo Group subscribers who are residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our
CONTEST PAGE!

Good Luck everybody!




BOMC2 - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!





Marilynn Griffith talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her newest release 'Rhythms of Grace'
- Her upcoming release 'Mom's The Word'
- Her literary journey
- Her thoughts on the Christian Fiction market
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Rhythms of Grace'
Marilynn Griffith





Earl Sewell talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- His newest release 'Love, Lies And Scandal'
- His upcoming YA title 'Lesson Learned'
and upcoming adult title 'Have Mercy'
- His start as a self-published author
- His thoughts on the ever-changing book industry
- His advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'Love, Lies And Scandal'
Earl Sewell


Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!


We have a new link to take you straight to the upcoming releases page for books! Be sure to bookmark BLACKBOOKRELEASES.COM now! We will update the New Release page for Music soon!



We have a new blog dedicated to sharing our opinions on the good, the bad, and the ugly in regards to the AA Fiction market! Be sure to bookmark LITERARY SOAPBOX now! We will post a new topic every week, so be sure to check that out and chime in!


We have updated the Urban Reviews R&B playlist as well as posted the Urban Reviews Video of the Month in the Media Center. We added more excerpts awhile ago, but we will be working on updating more on the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!



And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We've made it to our Three Year Anniversary!

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!


     

     

We made it through our THREE YEAR ANNIVERSARY and we are continuing to grow in popularity by the day! We have a crew of 9 reviewers (8 of them for book reviews and Charles holding down the music reviews). We currently have nearly 600 subscribers to the Yahoo Group! We continue to strive to be the best on the block, but lately we've been swamped with obligations outside of the website. But we have re-energized and will bring back the hotness to an acceptable level in no time.


Stay tuned for more! And be sure to bookmark the ever-growing AA Fiction Upcoming Releases page! (don't forget... you can also access this page by visiting BLACKBOOKRELEASES.COM

We plan to update the new releases page by year's end so stay tuned for that. Don't forget to check out the Recent Releases page as well.


WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!



We have added a new link to every review on our review pages to make it even easier to vote for our stuff on Amazon.com! All you have to do is click the 'Vote And Comment Now' button to vote for the reviews you feel are helpful! It takes less than 10 seconds to vote for each of the reviews...so please take a few minutes to vote right now!!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. Check it out.


Click the logo above to check out GoodReads page and add us as a friend!


Click the logo above to check out Radiah's Facebook page and be sure to send a friend request!




BOOK EXCERPT OF THE MONTH!

Click The Book Cover
For A Full Excerpt of
Back Stabbers

Click Here to Order
your copy of
Back Stabbers today!




HOT PRE-ORDERS


Pre-Order Your Copy of
Where There's Smoke today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
The Cartel today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
Denim Diaries #1 today!



Pre-Order Your Copy of
The Hood Life today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
Shyt List II today!




Pre-Order Your Copy of
What Doesn't Kill You today!




And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com

We just completed our 41st month of existence, and we just climbed past 168200 hits to the website.

We THANK YOU for the continued support!

Info@Urban-Reviews.com



Order Your Copy Of The
New York Times Best-Selling Novel
MIDNIGHT: A GANGSTER LOVE STORY!

  

 

Thursday, December 11, 2008

On The Line With Radiah Hubbert - December 2008 - Earl Sewell

December 2008

Earl Sewell talks to Radiah Hubbert about:

- His newest release 'Love, Lies And Scandal'
- His upcoming YA title 'Lesson Learned' and adult title 'Have Mercy'
- His start as a self-published author
- His thoughts on the ever-changing book industry
- His advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!

Click Here For Our Exclusive Audio Interview With
The Author of 'Love, Lies And Scandal'
Earl Sewell



On The Line with Radiah Hubbert
Exclusive One-on-One Interviews with Today's Top Authors!