Thursday, February 18, 2010

ON THE LINE WITH RADIAH HUBBERT - Tiffany L. Warren - Author of 'In The Midst Of It All'

On The Line with Radiah Hubbert - Tiffany L. Warren - Author of 'In The Midst Of It All' -

Tiffany L. Warren talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her newest release 'In the Midst of it All'
- Her young adult series as Nikki Carter
- Her literary journey
- Her annual 'Faith And Fiction Retreat'
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much Much More!

Click Here For Our Exclusive Audio Interview
With The Author Of 'In the Midst of it All'
Tiffany L. Warren



Read our review for In The Midst of It All right now!
Order your copy of In the Midst of It All today!

On The Line with Radiah Hubbert
Exclusive One-on-One Interviews with Today's Top Authors!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Tiffany L. Warren - In the Midst of it All

In the Midst of It AllTiffany L. Warren -
In the Midst of it All -
Available Now! -
5 out of 5 books -


Alexander Hamilton and Malcolm X are quoted for saying “Those Who Stand for Nothing, Fall for Anything.” That almost describes Zenovia except she did have a relationship with God and she knew the bible for herself. So when Charlotte and her daughter Alyssa from Brethren of the Sacrifice knocked on her door claiming to have “good news,” why did Zenovia ignore her gift and decide to join along with her mother? Was it because of her mom, or the excitement of being back in church?

In search of good news, Audrey’s excited about joining a new church. Zenovia has missed the choir and the preaching at their church First Gethsemane; however, what they find at Brethren of the Sacrifice Devotion Center leaves Audrey mentally unstable and Zenovia with unanswered questions and a broken spirit.

I enjoyed the cast of characters, their story, and how they were redeemed. We see Zenovia’s mother Audrey, though straddled with schizophrenia, eager to find a husband and a church. What I absolutely loved about this character was that side of her which had me laughing out loud throughout the book. As quick as she would crack a joke, she would cut you smooth if you crossed her.

We met Zenovia at age seventeen, mentally older than her years, waiting for that next thing, whatever that was and looked like. I would assume that it’s because she’s cared for her mom for as long as she can remember. With no friends or a boy to call her own, Zenovia’s grace is longer than her suffering.

Tiffany Warren opens the doors on religious rhetoric and issues in the church that don’t line up with what the bible says. I believe this is the perfect time for Christian authors to shed light on non-biblical doctrine being taught and preached in the church. In the Midst of It All could help the readers answer or feel empowered enough to challenge their church belief system, ask questions or seek the bible for answers. The title of this book was befitting of the challenges represented. In the midst of all that’s going on and all that’s being said to you, keep your focus on the Lord because His love will always be there.

Reviewed by Missy for Urban Reviews

Order your copy of In the Midst of It All today!

-

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Contact Urban Reviews!

Contact us!

If you want to request a book review, please visit our SUBMISSION GUIDELINES page.


If you want to purchase an ad, or inquire about our promotional opportunities, please visit our ADVERTISING AND PROMOTIONAL GUIDELINES page.

Let us know what questions, comments, or suggestions that you have.

Email us at feedback@urban-reviews.com or contact us via Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/radiahhubbert

ADVERTISING & PROMOTIONAL GUIDELINES (As of January 2, 2015

Urban Reviews - Advertising Guidelines -
(As of January 2, 2015) -

Thank you for your interest in advertising on Urban-Reviews.com. Here are our basic guidelines for paid sidebar advertising. (scroll down for Alternative Promotional Opportunities)

1. We  offer both book cover advertising AND banner advertising. The graphic for the book cover ad will be scaled to 150 pixels by 219 pixels and must be provided at the time of emailing your advertising request.  The graphic for the banner ad must be 600 pixels wide by 150 pixels high and also must be provided at the time of emailing your ad request (unless you are requesting us to design one for you.)  Details on designing a banner ad are detailed below.

2. You must email your request to adspace@urban-reviews.com. We will review your request and email you back on whether your ad will be accepted for display on our website. Do NOT send money before your ad is approved. We will email you with the total cost (including Paypal processing fees) and acknowledge the specific start and end dates that we can accommodate for your ad campaign. Please include the following information with your advertisement request:

- Your Name
- Desired Form of Payment (Money Order or Paypal) (Note: Credit/Debit cards can be used for sending Paypal payment and Money Orders will delay the Start date of your ad)

- Requested Start and End Dates of when you would like the ad(s) to run if accepted
- Name of the book(s) or website that you would like to feature
- Link to the page that the ad will be directed to (if unknown, we will link to product on Amazon)
- The actual book cover attached to your email request or a link to a site with the bookcover graphic.
- The Email address that we should send the Paypal money request to (if paying by Paypal).

4. The advertising rate are as follows:

- Book Cover Ads: $50 per month, $135 for 3 months ($15 savings), or $250 for 6 months ($50 savings)
- Banner Advertising:  $80 per month, $225 for 3 months ($15 savings), or $430 for 6 months ($50 savings).

Note:  All Paypal payments will incur an additional $1-$10 transaction fee depending on the ad selected.

More about Banner Advertising:
- A customized single sentence byline link will be allowed to be placed under the banner ad.
- If no sentence byline is supplied to us, a basic sentence byline will be placed under the graphic.
- The ad can link to any reasonable website URL.  If no link is specified, it will be linked to the Amazon.com page for the book (or the Amazon.com landing page for the author's multiple books).
- Absolutely no ANIMATED graphics will be allowed for banner advertising.
- Only 3 banner ads will be displayed per month, but this could change at any time in the future.  
- Pricing above is based on the Banner ad graphic being supplied by the author/publisher.  

Effective February 5, 2014 : Banners will no longer be designed by us. You must submit your own design for your banner.

5. Monthly ad campaigns will run for one calendar month (i.e. April 1st-30th or April 15th-May 14th). Space is limited to 24 bookcover ads at a time, and 3 banner ads at a time.

6. Only Money Orders or Paypal payments will be accepted. If paying by Money Order, please allow for a full week so that the payment can reach us before the start date for your ad. A Paypal money request will be sent to the email address provided. Absolutely no checks, cash, or any other form of payment will be accepted.

7. Placement for a book cover ad will be on the far right side, while banner advertising will be just above the featured content for that particular page (always near the top). The ads will be featured on every single page of the site.  There is no guarantee of where your book cover ad will be placed within the sidebar advertising area.

8. We are open to any questions/suggestions that are not mentioned in these guidelines. We do ALL correspondence via email.

_________________________________________________________________________

Urban Reviews - Alternative Promotional Guidelines
(As of January 2, 2015)

BOOK EXCERPT OF THE MONTH - Each month we will post a new excerpt with a link to the author's website on the front page of the Urban Reviews website. Even though this section is free when we select our own content to feature, it can be reserved for $40. Space must be reserved no later than 1 week before the 1st of the following month, but any month can be reserved well in advance. For example, if it is now February, and you have a book coming out in May, you can reserve the space now and we will feature your book and a link to your excerpt for the month of May. If interested, please send your request to bookexcerpt@urban-reviews.com no later than 1 week before the first of the next month.

BOOK PREVIEW OF THE MONTH - Each month, we will display a book description for an upcoming title. Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for a small fee of $30. If interested, please send your request to bookpreview@urban-reviews.com no later than 1 week before the first of the next month.

BOOK TRAILER OF THE MONTH - Each month, we'll feature your book trailer on the front page of the site, no matter if it is an upcoming title or was recently released (within the past 6 months). Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for $35 If interested in reserving a spot, please send your request to booktrailer@urban-reviews.com no later than 1 week before the first of the next month.

POET OF THE MONTH - We will feature a poet and their book or spoken word CD. Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for a small fee of $20. If interested, please send your request to poetry@urban-reviews.com no later than 1 week before the first of the next month.

DEALZ AND STEALZ (a weekly feature) - We will display your online deal for your title on the sidebar, meaning it will be shown on every page of the website. This could be anything from free shipping, to $5 off the retail price, to a bookclub discount when 5 or more books are purchased, a free item with purchase, etc. Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for a small fee of $15 a week (limit of two weeks can be reserved and you must wait four weeks to reserve the Dealz and Stealz section again. This is to ensure that others have a chance to use this service as well). If interested, please send your request to dealz@urban-reviews.com with your desired week to be featured in this section.

 AUTHOR OF THE WEEK (a weekly feature) - We will display your picture and your latest release on the sidebar, meaning it will be shown on every page of the website. The feature will be linked to your website as well as link to your book on Amazon.com or your desired site. Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for a small fee of $25 a week (limit of two weeks can be reserved per month and you cannot have back-to-back weeks. This is to ensure that others have a chance to use this service as well). If interested, please send your request to aotw@urban-reviews.com with your desired week to be featured in this section.

BOOK OF THE WEEK (a weekly feature) - We will display a recent book release (released in some format within the last 12 months) on the sidebar, meaning it will be shown on every page of the website. The feature will be linked to your website as well as link to your book on Amazon.com or your desired site. Again, this section is free when we select our own content to feature, but it can be reserved for a small fee of $25 a week (limit of two weeks can be reserved per month and you cannot have back-to-back weeks. This is to ensure that others have a chance to use this service as well). If interested, please send your request to botw@urban-reviews.com with your desired week to be featured in this section.

FEATURED ONLINE Q&A - Always free, but reserved for those that we are doing book reviews for. Not accepting requests for this promotion.

AUDIO INTERVIEW - Always free, but reserved for authors at our discretion. Not accepting requests for this promotion.

Thank you again for your interest in advertising and promotion on the Urban-Reviews.com website.
-
-

INSIDE OUT WITH ROLAND S. JEFFERSON - AUTHOR OF 'WHITE COAT FEVER'

ROLAND S. JEFFERSON -

Born in Washington DC, Roland Jefferson was raised in Los Angeles. In 1976 he tried his hand at writing fiction. His first novel, The School On 103rd Street was published to critical success, taking its place along side the works of acclaimed authors Sam Greenlee and John Williams. It has been published three different times in the US and simultaneously published in Germany, while garnishing numerous awards and accolades including its selection by the Los Angeles Times Book Review for inclusion in its 'Guide to Literary Los Angeles 2001.'





Urban Reviews:  Tell our readers about White Coat Fever.
Roland S. Jefferson:  Well, White Coat Fever is a romantic melodrama that takes place in the 1960's on a HBCU campus during the explosive civil rights era. It centers on distorted values during a time in African American society when college-age girls were socially mandated by their families to maintain their middle-class status by marrying doctors...by any means necessary----even if it meant they didn't love them. It follows three childhood friends as they matriculate through college & medical school, their loves & disappointments all shaped by the unfolding civil rights movement that draws them into an irrversible conflict with class, color and ideals of romantic entitlement that changes them in profound ways they never anticipated.

Urban Reviews:  How did the idea for this book come about?
Roland S. Jefferson:  I'd always had the idea for this story largely because I lived it. For the past 40 or so years my family has constantly been on my back to write it, so I finally did. I guess they saw a social and relevance that I didn't, probably because I was too close to it. But once I started writing it, I could finally see they maybe had a point, that this story was rooted in traditional African American middle-class history (be that good or bad).

The School on 103rd Street: A Novel (Old School Books)Damaged Goods: A NovelUrban Reviews: You have a few other released titles as well. Briefly tell us about your other published works.
Roland S. Jefferson:  I've written a total of six novels, five of which are in print. The first, SCHOOL ON 103RD STREET continues be the most successful, in that it is being taught in black literature courses on the college level. It's revolutionary theme still resonates some 35 years later. But it too was rooted in the civil rights movement. A CARD FOR THE PLAYERS is about a unique Las Vegas casino heist carried out by a group wealthy gambling addicts. My third book 559 TO DAMASCUS is centered on a group of Islamic terrorists who get their hands on a nuclear bomb. DAMAGED GOODS is a crime noir novel about a group of African American criminals who pull of a daring heist at the behest of a corrupt prison warden promising a reduced sentence. ONE NIGHT STAND is a story about a brilliant young female attorney who works for the PD's office (public defender). But she has personal demons that place her in harms way when she's assigned to defend a black gangbanger/drug dealer falsely accused of murder by a group of corrupt LAPD cops.

Urban Reviews: What things about the book industry have taken you by surprise?
Roland S. Jefferson:  The explosion of urban literature (street lit)

Urban Reviews: What has been your best experience so far as a published author?
Roland S. Jefferson:  Getting positive feedback from black female readers.

Urban Reviews: Who or what inspired you to want to become a writer?
Roland S. Jefferson:  No one in particular. As a youngster I always had a penchant for adventure stories and wanted to write. But the family discouraged that career choice, thinking it would not be a profession that could sustain itself. At that time, in the 1950's there weren't but a few black writers who'd broken through to celebrity stastus. So to some degree I suppose they were right, because they only wanted the best for me. So in later years I had to discover my writing talent on my own.

White Coat Fever: A novelUrban Reviews: Do you have any ideas or plans for any upcoming projects?
Roland S. Jefferson:  Yes, I'm working on a serial killer book now. Many readers have suggsted a sequel to WHITE COAT FEVER. So maybe, if I feel it.

Urban Reviews: What do you like to do besides write?
Roland S. Jefferson:  I like to drive fast cars. I love vacationing and writing in the caribbean, especially the Bahamas and Jamaica. I'm a fan of classic film noir and good jazz. And I'm also a long time collector of Dorothy Dandridge memorabilia.

Urban Reviews: What things can you suggest to other writers that are thinking about self-publishing their novel?
Roland S. Jefferson:  Writing the novel is easy. Enjoy that part of it. Because once it's finished and edited, the work really begins. The biggest obstacle you will face is the expense and time required in getting the book publicized, distributed and into bookstores as well as getting it reviewed. As a general rule most of the nation's major newspapers and magazines flatly refuse to review self-published books. You can get some TV exposure on public access programs, but you really want to be on CNN and CNBC. And chain bookstores have to be hauled kicking and screaming to the table in order to get them to give up shelf space for a self published book. Of couse the internet is changing all of that, but there is still a great deal of marketing and promotional expense necessary to push a book into the public eye. Keep in mind you are up against 200,000 other books that come out every year, so you have your work cut out for you in an effort to stand out from the crowd. E. Lynn Harris, Relentless Arron and Nikki Turner are examples of self published authors who used creative and unrelenting drive that paid off and resulted in major book deals and/or theit own book imprints.

Urban Reviews:  Is there anything else you would like to share about yourself or your novel?
Roland S. Jefferson:  Just that it's a book with lots of romance, some explosive historical facts that will make some readers squeamish, and a theme guaranteed to make some black women uncomfortable. It wasn't written with that in mind of course. But then I was there...

http://www.rolandsjefferson.com/
www.twitter.com/rolandthewriter
www.myspace.com/rolandthewriter
www.facebook.com/rolandthewriter
http://www.authorhouse.com/bookstore/ItemDetail.aspx?bookid=59824

Read our recent review for White Coat Fever: A novel today!
Order your copy of White Coat Fever: A novel today!
-
-

NEW REVIEW: Roland S. Jefferson - White Coat Fever

White Coat Fever: A novel
Roland S. Jefferson -
White Coat Fever -
Available Now! -

4 out of 5 books -


September Johnson grew up under an African-American noblige society in 1960s Los Angeles. In her world, September was destined to marry her debutante escort Bennyboy after she completed nursing school in Wisconsin and he completed medical school at Howard in D.C. But when distance and self-discovery change their priorities, will they find themselves back to each other before Aiyana Crawford, a woman sick with white coat fever, changes their lives?

Jefferson writes a compelling cinematic family saga. However, it was challenging in spots, particularly on the part of Aiyana. Although her purpose was obsviously to be the catalyst that draws September and Bennyboy apart, she becomes this gender stereotypical witch/puppet master who makes them do what she wants them to do until some miracle revelation by the hero forces him to change his mind about her. The story would have had more depth if the novel explored September and Bennyboy's own personal challenges and self-discoveries that drew them apart instead of focusing more on the gold-digger than the two main characters we want to root for.

Moreover, the way in which this book was written made it hard to care about Bennyboy and September. What was September's motivation? What was her conflict? What universal appeal about her would make a reader care about her? Although she was physically described very well, where was her heart? I really wanted to care what happened to her, but I couldn't. The story was written as if she was in a glass box, and for a reader we need to experience and feel for September.

Overall, White Coat Fever by Roland S. Jefferson had great potential to be a lovely romance, but as I said before, there was something off with the character's story arc. I believe this story is great for readers who like Norma Jarrett's Sweet Magnolia, Dedra Jackson's Sandrines Letter to Tomorrow and Walter Mosley's The Man in My Basement.

Reviewed by Dee Stewart for Urban Reviews
 
Order your copy of White Coat Fever: A novel today!

Saturday, February 13, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Richard Jeanty - The Bedroom Bandit

The Bedroom Bandit
Richard Jeanty -
The Bedroom Bandit -
Available Now! -
4 out of 5 books -



What do you do when you are sexually frustrated, neglected, lied and cheated on? This describes the ladies of Bingham Lane, deprived from attention they desire and need. These wealthy women derive a plan that is too hard to pass up for the "Bedroom Bandit."

David a.k.a. Junior knew early on that he was different from most young men his age. With grooming from his uncle, Junior learned the ins and outs of a woman. Junior excelled in academics and received a full academic scholarship to Brown University. But that's just one of the images that Junior's possesses. Junior’s sexual appetite is unique, and he learned from the best...an older woman...who's also his neighbor.
When a situation goes wrong, Junior has to leave school and must re-evaluate his life options. Will Junior succumb to his sexual desires and embark in a profession as "The Bedroom Bandit" that is both satisfying and well paying at the same time?

The Bedroom Bandit takes you to a place where you definitely want to go. Junior had the world in his hands, in every since of the word. Junior has a lot or pressure to be the best. But he eventually realizes that he has to live for himself and stop trying to make everyone happy.  I think Junior understood this, and realized that life is not promised to anyone. But just like the old saying goes, "everything that glitters isn’t gold." Junior soon learns that every choice has a consequence and repercussion. Will Junior be able to handle everything that comes his way?

The Bedroom Bandit by Richard Jeanty had me on the edge of my seat. The novel definitely proved the point that everything that is good to you isn’t necessarily good for you. Mr. Jeanty provides the reader a juicy storyline full of affairs, money, extravagant taste, and murder. I thoroughly enjoyed reading each and every page in The Bedroom Bandit from the beginning to end.

Reviewed by Kristin for Urban Reviews
 
Order your copy of The Bedroom Bandit today!

NEW REVIEW: Mikal H. El-Amin - 187 Iz An Art

187 Iz An Art
Mikal H. El-Amin -
187 Iz An Art -

Available Now! -
3 out of 5 books -


Being a teenager is hard for any adolescent, but living in the projects with little or no supervision is a totally different situation. Kamikaze and Killa were cousins who grew up together and had that hustler mentality. They did what they needed to do for clothes, shoes, jewelry and food. The cousins were small time dealers who were up on a come up.

Growing up in the projects was no walk in the park. In order to survive, you had to be two steps ahead, and Killa and Kamikaze grew up fast and quick. Seeing up-and-coming drug dealers, the cousins decided to start a crew called 187 Cru, and their worlds are forever changed.

The newly founded crew consisted of close friends Paula, Tiffany, and Neecee from the projects. With the "take and conquer" mentality, robbery, murder, dishonesty, and lies are things that the crew become accustomed to. Everything around them changes, but are the girls willing and able to hang on for the ride?

With fame and fortune comes problems, and when a situation goes wrong, Kamikaze ends up in prison. They go the extra mile to do what is needed to free Kamikaze, including countless illegal manuevers. When Kamikaze comes home, the crew has already begun a deadly war with a rival crew of brothers. Blood shed, indictments, and numerous deaths lead to re-evaluating the life the cousins have chosen to live. What choices will the crew ultimately make, and will it be too late for some or all of the crew?

187 Iz An Art by Mikal H. El-Amin was a very interesting tale. The path that the cousins chose to live lead to some very severe consequences and repercussions. Fast money is not always easy and good money. This book is a good book for young men and others who have this skewed image of a hustler's life. Some points within the story were hard to follow, but 187 Iz An Art provided a vivid image into the lives of Kamikaze and Killa.

Reviewed by Kristin for Urban Reviews

Order your copy of 187 Iz An Art today!

Friday, February 12, 2010

Contest for Life's not a Beach by J Lynn

Life's not a Beach
Contest for Life's not a Beach by J Lynn - Details Inside....

Contest for SINGLE HUSBANDS by HoneyB

Single Husbands
Contest for SINGLE HUSBANDS by HoneyB (Details inside..........)

Friday, February 05, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Christopher Herz - The Last Block in Harlem

The Last Block in HarlemChristopher Herz -
The Last Block in Harlem -
Available Now! -
4 out of 5 books -


A new unemployed advertising executive attempts to change his Harlem neighborhood by first cleaning up the trash on the streets. Because of his efforts, the neighborhood is thrown into the spotlight of the local media. All of his efforts may be in vain when it leads to the gentrification of his neighborhood. Now this brave man must try to save his neighbors from losing their homes and to restore the identity of his Harlem neighborhood.

The Last Block in Harlem is an interesting take on the gentrification that's taking place in so many neighborhoods across the country. Christopher Herz does a good job of telling this story through the eyes of an unnamed narrator. Herz gives you a bird's-eye view of the sights and sounds of the Harlem neighborhood. You feel the struggle of the main character as he tries to do what he feels he needs to do for Harlem while trying not to abandon his wife. This story does have an extremely perplexing psychological twist that you will need to pay close attention to. The Last Block in Harlem is a thought-provoking debut novel by Christopher Herz.

Reviewed by Radiah Hubbert for Urban Reviews

Order your copy of The Last Block in Harlem today!

Thursday, February 04, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Joe Lee - Scarred From My Past

Scarred From My PastJoe Lee -
Scarred From My Past -
Available Now! -
4 out of 5 books -


Natalia De Jong is a woman from Belize that is trying to find her life's purpose. After being a victim of rape and childhood molestation, Natalia is still carrying all of this baggage into adulthood. She continues her risky sexual behavior while trying to run away from her childhood demons. Through this tumultuous journey, Natalia finds solace in the birth of her daughter. She still wants a man that truly loves her unconditionally, but the man that she really wants is totally out of her reach.

Scarred From My Past is an impressive debut novel by Joe Lee. Lee did a wonderful job of telling this coming of age story from a woman’s perspective. The inclusion of Belize and the Belizean culture gives the reader a whole different perspective into Natalia’s story. This novel shows of the repercussions sexual abuse and how not having a strong family upbringing can have on one’s life. Even as an adult, Natalia was still having issues with valuing herself as a person. Scarred From My Past is an insightful novel about self-love and self-preservation.
 
Reviewed by Radiah Hubbert for Urban Reviews
 
Order your copy of Scarred From My Past today!

-

Wednesday, February 03, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Tracy Brown - Snapped: A Novel

Snapped: A NovelTracy Brown -
Snapped -
Available Now! -
4.5 out of 5 Books -

Camille, Misa, Dominique, and Latoya are four friends with plenty of problems. Camille is married to Frankie Bingham, who is a part of the Noble crime syndicate. Camille has all of the material things she could want and doesn’t have to lift a finger. But she may be in danger of losing her husband Frankie to his co-worker and friend Gillian. Camille’s sister Misa is looking for a man to give her the same wealth that her sister has. Misa thinks she’s found all that she’s looking for in Baron, but what does she really know about him? Dominique has a wonderful career and a loving daughter. But Dominique is so caught up in running back and forth to see her incarcerated boyfriend that she’s neglecting her home. Latoya is the most outspoken of the four friends. She seems to have it all together until life throws her an unexpected curveball.

Tracy Brown delivers once again with Snapped. This novel is full of non-stop drama and unusual circumstances. Brown does a good job of setting the tone of this story by providing readers with a sneak peak at the conclusion in the beginning of the book. While reading this story, you’ll wonder which character will be the one that “snaps.” Although these women had different lifestyles, they each had the same issue in terms of not paying attention to the important elements of their lives. This story had a host of good characters. But the cluelessness of Camille about her situation with her husband was downright infuriating. It will make you wish that she would just wake up. Brown did provide an excellent cliffhanger ending that will definitely lead to a hopefully satisfying sequel. Snapped is definitely a vivid page-turner by Tracy Brown.

Reviewed by Radiah Hubbert for Urban Reviews

Order your copy of Snapped: A Novel today!


-