.

.

Monday, January 07, 2008

Urban-Reviews.com - Best Reviewed Books of 2007


Best Reviewed Books of 2007

Below is a listing of books reviewed on the Urban-Reviews.com website that we noted as being the best of the best!

*Note: The date after each book signifies the month in which the reviews were done.
Visit our Archive Page to find the corresponding AA Fiction page on our site.



5 out of 5 'Top Shelf Rating' 'Classic'

(These reviews have been updated with our 'Top Shelf Rating' indicator. )



TRACY BROWN - WHITE LINES - (JAN 2007)
TU-SHONDA WHITAKER - THE EX FACTOR - (JAN 2007)
ELECTA ROME PARKS - LADIES NIGHT OUT - (JAN 2007)
VELVET - THE BLACK DOOR - (FEB 2007)
MOSES MILLER - NAN: THE TRIFLING TIMES OF NATHAN JONES - (FEB 2007)
N. QUAMERE CINCERE - WE AIN'T NO NIGGAS! - (MAR 2007)
KAYLA PERRIN - WE'LL NEVER TELL - (APR 2007)
WILLIAM FREDRICK COOPER - THERE'S ALWAYS A REASON - (APR 2007)
DAVID L. - OVER YOUR DEAD BODY - (APR 2007)
WASIIM - THAT WAS DIRTY - (MAY 2007)
TRACY HOWARD - GOLD DIGGERS - (JUN 2007)
GLORIA MALLETTE - LIVING, BREATHING LIES - (JUN 2007)
DYWANE D. BIRCH - SHATTERED SOULS - (JUN 2007)
VARIOUS AUTHORS - CREEPIN' ANTHOLOGY - (JUL 2007)
LATRESE N. CARTER - LIAR, LIAR - (JUL 2007)
NICOLETTE - PAPER DOLL - (JUL 2007)
VICTORIA CHRISTOPHER MURRAY - THE EX FILES - (AUG 2007)
TREASURE E. BLUE - A STREET GIRL NAMED DESIRE - (AUG 2007)
MICHELLE MCGRIFF - DEADLY TEASE - (SEP 2007)
CALEB ALEXANDER - EASTSIDE - (SEP 2007)
NALEIGHNA KAI - EVERY WOMAN NEEDS A WIFE - (SEP 2007)
TRAVIS HUNTER - A FAMILY SIN - (OCT 2007)
VICTOR MCGLOTHIN - MS. ETTA'S FAST HOUSE - (OCT 2007)
STACEY L. FORD - SELLING THE FANTASY - (OCT 2007)
PAT SIMMONS - GUILTY OF LOVE - (OCT 2007)
SHERRI L. LEWIS - MY SOUL CRIES OUT - (OCT 2007)
FONZWORTH BENTLEY - ADVANCE YOUR SWAGGER - (OCT 2007)
ERIC PETE - BLOW YOUR MIND - (NOV 2007)
SHEILA COPELAND - DIAMOND REVELATION - (NOV 2007)
MICHELLE LARKS - KEEPING MISERY COMPANY - (NOV 2007)
NATHAN MCCALL - THEM - (NOV 2007)
EBONY FARASHUU - SLOW BURN - (NOV 2007)
RESHONDA TATE BILLINGSLEY - THE PASTOR'S WIFE - (DEC 2007)
PAULA CHASE - SO NOT THE DRAMA - (DEC 2007)
PAULA CHASE - DON'T GET IT TWISTED - (DEC 2007)
PAMELA SAMUELS-YOUNG - IN FIRM PURSUIT - (DEC 2007)



4.5 OUT OF 5 'NEAR CLASSIC'

(There are our honorable mentions since they are very close to a top shelf rating!)

MARISSA MONTEILH - DR. FEELGOOD - (MAR 2007)
SHANNON HOLMES - DIRTY GAME - (MAY 2007)
TINA BROOKS MCKINNEY - ALL THAT DRAMA - (MAY 2007)
TINA BROOKS MCKINNEY - LAWD, MO DRAMA - (MAY 2007)
VENESHA - MISTRESS ME - (MAY 2007)
CEREKA COOK - EXTREME CIRCUMSTANCES - (JUN 2007)
ERIC JEROME DICKEY - SLEEPING WITH STRANGERS - (AUG 2007)
MARY B. MORRISON - SWEETER THAN HONEY - (AUG 2007)
P.L. WILSON - HOLY HUSTLER - (AUG 2007)
HEATHER HUNTER WITH MICHELLE VALENTINE - INSATIABLE - (AUG 2007)
ALLISON HOBBS - A BONA FIDE GOLD DIGGER - (SEP 2007)
ANGIE DANIELS - TROUBLE LOVES COMPANY - (SEP 2007)
JANET STEVENS COOK - BLACK SKYY - (SEP 2007)
SHERRANCE HENDERSON - THE TEN YEAR DATE - (OCT 2007)
VARIOUS AUTHORS - FLEXIN AND SEXIN ANTHOLOGY - (OCT 2007)
MARY MONROE - DELIVER ME FROM EVIL - (NOV 2007)
GWYNNE FORSTER - GETTING SOME OF HER OWN - (NOV 2007)
SAN CULBERSON - IN BETWEEN MEN - (NOV 2007)
MIA A. MOORE - TONIGHT I GIVE IN - (NOV 2007)
VELVET - SEDUCTION: A BLACK DOOR NOVEL - (DEC 2007)


Leave your thoughts on your favorite reads from 2007!!!!
There's already 4 books that have Top Shelf Ratings for 2008!

Visit our January 2008 AA Fiction Page to see what books are the newest MUST READS!

Urban-Reviews.com - January 2008 Newsletter

 

Urban-Reviews.com Monthly Newsletter

January 2008- Keeping You Up-To-Date On African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!




WE HAVE A COUPLE OF GIVEAWAYS THIS MONTH!

All you have to do is wait for the special message to the group and then send your name and mailing address to the specific email address mentioned in that message! You will have 24 hours (by 7am CST the following day) to enter and we will announce the winners that evening via the Yahoo Group. You can only win ONCE during the month and the contest is restricted to residents within the continental United States!!!

Check out what we are giving away this month on our CONTEST PAGE! There is a possibility that we may add more giveaway items to the ones already listed. We will let you know if that happens.

Good Luck everybody!



ZOOBA.COM - The Best Way To Get AA Fiction titles!
Brand New Hardcover Editions - $9.95 With Free Shipping!




Tu-Shonda L. Whitaker / Risqué talks to Radiah Hubbert about:
- Her new novel 'The Sweetest Taboo'
- Her upcoming projects including her teen series
- Her literary journey
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much More!!!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'The Sweetest Taboo'
Tu-Shonda L. Whitaker/Risqué


Urban Reviews Updates
Don't forget to sign up for our Yahoo Group!

We've also updated the New and Upcoming Releases page for African-American Fiction, and the New Release page for Music!

We've added new features to our front page! They include a Book Excerpt of the Month, Hot Pre-Orders of the Month, Book Preview of the Month, Featured Author Site of the Month, and Featured Artist Site of the Month! Be sure to check those new items every month!

We have the Urban Reviews Top 15 Audio playlist as well as the Urban Reviews Video of the Month posted in the Media Center. We are still working on updating the African-American Book Excerpts page for you to read sample chapters before you decide to buy the books!

The Author Connection page features of different links to things like author webpages, Blogs, Myspace pages, Publisher sites, Literary sites, and Poetry Sites! And don't forget to check out the Artist Connection page as well!




We're on Myspace too! Check us out at WWW.MYSPACE.COM/URBANREVIEWS. We have hundreds of Myspace friends who are authors, literary agents, book reviewers, and other industry insiders.




We've also got the Urban Reviews Yahoo Group! The purpose of the group will be exclusively to converse about, promote, and inform each other on anything related to AA Fiction. Urban Reviews Yahoo Group members are the only ones who can be eligible for our Monthly giveaways. So CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE URBAN REVIEWS YAHOO GROUP today!!!

And last but certainly not least, we have our The Pinnacle, our official blog where you can look at press releases, Tour info, links to relevant online articles, and more. You can subscribe to our blog by clicking here! The Forthcoming is a daily blog posting where we post a new book preview for new and upcoming releases!!! Just click here and you'll be on your way!

Email Us your comments at Info@Urban-Reviews.com, and let us know what you think about all the new updates and features. This is an exciting time for Urban Reviews, and we thank you all for your continued support. We made it over the Two Year mark, and hopefully we'll be around for another 50! ~LOL~

Thanks again, and be sure you participate in all the stuff we offer! From Polls to Contests to discussions in the Yahoo Group! Let's make Urban Reviews the 'Go To' site for all fans of African-American Fiction, Hip-Hop, and R&B!





URBAN C.R.E.A.M. - OUR URBAN MUSIC BLOG
OFFICIAL LAUNCH FEBRUARY 1ST, 2008!
Curious??? Take A Sneak Peak Now!




     

     

We made it to 2008 and we are growing in popularity by the day! We reached our goal of at least 300 Yahoo Group members, we continued to bring you honest reviews, and had dynamic contests! We will continue to stand out from the pack and bring you the hotness! Stay tuned for more! And be sure to check out (and bookmark) the ever-growing AA Fiction Upcoming Releases page! There are already 350 titles listed for 2008!!!
WE STILL NEED YOUR HELP IN SPREADING THE WORD ABOUT OUR SITE...AND THIS IS HOW!

The best way for us to gain additional exposure is to vote for our reviews on the Amazon.com website. We only ask that you vote for the reviews that you deem helpful (hopefully they all are, but you never know!).

Below is the link to a listing of the books reviewed by us.

PLEASE DO NOT VOTE AGAINST OTHER REVIEWS! We are not trying to build ourselves up by breaking down others. Thanks to all, and hopefully we can show the world that Urban Reviews is on top of the game!



Help Promote Our Site!
Add Our Link or Graphic To Your Blog, Myspace Page, Official Website, Etc!



Link = http://www.urban-reviews.com



Don't forget to join the HALALA newsletter to stay on top of all the African-American authors coming out from Hachette Book Group USA.



Click the logo above to check out Radiah's ever-growing book shelf on Shelfari. Shelfari is a relatively new service that is kind of like Myspace for books! You can send friend requests, post comments, join online book groups, and of course build your own shelf! (Radiah is about 20-30% done with her list, and there are already 500+ books listed!) Check it out...and don't forget to send us your friend request (Please edit your request with a personal note saying that you are from the Yahoo Group!)




Don't forget to CAST YOUR VOTE! in our Mini Poll on the front page of the website.


Pre-order Carl Weber's book
Something On The Side



Pre-order Mikal Malone's book
Pitbulls In A Skirt


This month we want to know how many NEW African-American Fiction titles did you BUY in 2007? (not borrowed or used!)


Visit the website to tell us your educated guess!


And don't forget to FORWARD THIS NEWSLETTER to all your friends, family, co-workers, and associates that might appreciate what we have available at
Urban-Reviews.com

We just completed our 30th month of existence, and we just climbed past 105500 hits to the website (that's over 3600 hits in the last month!)

We THANK YOU for the continued support!

Info@Urban-Reviews.com
  

Thursday, January 03, 2008

On The Line w/Radiah Hubbert - January 2008 - Tu-Shonda L. Whitaker / Risqué

January 2008



Tu-Shonda L. Whitaker / Risqué talks to
Radiah Hubbert about:


- Her new novel 'The Sweetest Taboo'

- Her upcoming projects including her teen series
- Her literary journey
- Her advice to aspiring authors
- And Much More!!!


Click here for our Exclusive Audio Interview
with the Author of 'The Sweetest Taboo'

Tu-Shonda L. Whitaker / Risqu
é