Monday, November 28, 2022

Coming soon! UrbanReviewsOnline.com presents the 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway

 







Coming soon! UrbanReviewsOnline.com presents the 12 Days of Christmas giveaway. From December 12th-December 23rd, there will be a book given away each day to a lucky winner that answers the trivia question that will be posted exclusively in the Urban Reviews Facebook Group. You must be a member to win. If you are an author that would like to give away either an e-book or a physical book for this giveaway, please email Radiah Hubbert at info@urban-reviews.com by Friday, December 2nd. All authors are responsible for mailing or emailing their books to the winners.

Monday, November 07, 2022

New Review : Reparations : Style + Soul : James R. Sanders









4 out of 5 books


Reparations : Style + Soul is a beautiful coffee table book by James R. Sanders. What’s interesting about this book is the way that African American history & African American fashion history is mixed in between the pages of the pictures of high fashion African American models. Sanders also does a great job of including his personal history of how his grandmother influenced his own fashion and personal style.  This book is delightful to look at and is educational as a bonus. Reparations : Style+ Soul is a perfect gift for lovers of fashion & history.


Reviewed by Radiah Hubbert 


Get your copy of Reparations : Style + Soul today!








Thursday, October 13, 2022

The Forthcoming : Hold You Down: Tracy Brown : Release Date : November 1, 2022








Hold You Down is an edgy novel from rising star Tracy Brown about the perils of love and the ties that bind…

New York City. Late 1980s to early 1990s.

Mercy and Lenox Howard have always only had each other. Growing up on the mean streets of Harlem with an absentee mother meant that they had to have each other's backs. Now young, smart mothers they are determined to survive in New York City while raising their two sons, who have bright futures ahead of them.

Mercy is the quiet, straight laced hospital administrator, struggling to make ends meet. At night and on weekends, she pours her heart into her cooking and her dream of owning her own restaurant. Lenox is the diva, the wild child, looking for excitement and her big come up in life and love. Their boys, Deon and Judah, have been raised more like brothers than cousins, forging a bond that is unbreakable.

When Lenox heads down a path that she believes will bring success and power, it changes the entire course of her life and her family’s life forever. As a result of their mother’s choices, cousins Deon and Judah soon find themselves in uncharted territory.

Pre-order your copy of Hold You Down today!

The Forthcoming : Running to Fall : Kalisha Buckhanon : Release Date : November 1, 2022

 






Tragedy Powell tries to feel she has it all- until her and her husband's perfect life online becomes a whirlwind of spilled secrets about Tragedy's drinking, a missing woman, and their all-white town.

Tragedy and Victor Powell have moved to the desirable but dark Grayson Glens enclave of dream homes just outside of Chicago. Stressed urbanites, they've got to live large in real life to stay large online. With only a few blacks in their elite gated community, they settle in but never quite feel at home. Then, a missing young black woman floats up in the Grayson River. Running to Fall is a suspenseful, truthful look into the lives of women who drink to survive or just to cope, with a provocative narrator who carries readers along an emotional journey to acceptance.


Pre-order your copy of Running to Fall today!

Monday, October 10, 2022

New Review : In the Face of the Sun : Denny S. Bryce

 







5 out of 5 books

I fell in love with Denny S. Bryce’s writing with her first book, Wild Women and the Blues. I absolutely love historical fiction, so I was eager to read In the Face of the Sun. Ba-byyyy, it did not disappoint! In the Face of the Sun is a dual timeline novel, switching between Los Angeles (Daisy - 1928) and Chicago (Frankie - 1968). Daisy's had a hard life, and it shows, as her personality completely changes between the timelines. Back in 1928, she was a hardworking, honest person that cared about her family and friends. In 1968, she’s drinking, smoking, and doing the absolute most, a complete opposite of sweet innocent Daisy.

Frankie’s life isn’t peaches and cream, she’s pregnant and escaping her abusive husband. Her and her aunt Daisy pick up and head for L.A., for the adventure of a lifetime. You’ve got to read this book, I couldn’t put it down. I loved that there are history lessons interwoven in the pages, you’re reading and also learning at the same time.

Denny’s words are so vivid they spark your imagination, and you can almost “see” yourself in the book. I’d highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a “meat & potatoes” book, it’s got substance, believable characters, a great plot, and suspense. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars!

Thank you to Dafina, Kensington and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of the book, this review is my own honest personal opinion.

Reviewed by Kiera Northington

Get your copy of In the Face of the Sun today!

New Review : Justified : De'nesha Diamond & Briana Cole









5 out of 5 books


One of the things I liked best about this book is that it was really 2 novellas under 1 cover. Black and Blue is the first story by the late, great De’Nesha Diamond. Charlie gets crossed up after witnessing a murder and is sent to prison, but when she gets out, she serves up platters of revenge. (I’m sad that this will be the last work by De’Nesha Diamond, she is truly missed!)

In Pseudo, Kennedy’s abusive ex forces her to take the only way out, she runs away. Kennedy’s made a clean getaway and is living her best life. How? By stealing other women’s identities. What could possibly go wrong? One of the women is murdered. This story had me sitting on the edge of my chair, trying to figure out how Kennedy will get out of this tangled mess she created for herself. Lots of plot twists and turns.

Overall, I really liked the book. I would have loved to see each story fleshed out into their own books. I’d give this book 5 stars for creativity, plot, and suspense. I’d recommend it to anyone who wants a quick fulfilling read.

Thank you to Dafina, Kensington and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of the book, this review is my own honest personal opinion.

Reviewed by Kiera Northington

Get your copy of Justified today!

Sunday, October 09, 2022

New Review : Playing with Fire : Kiki Swinson






 

4 out of 5 books
                                                                    

Yoshi Lomax is a young, naive college student who at times acts emotionally younger than she is. She is relatable though and likeable, and I quickly got absorbed in her story, kind of reminded me of someone I knew in college.

I love me some Kiki Swinson, and I’ve been known to shut down everything until I’ve read the last page. This book is a bit slow to start at first, but it picks up quickly. There were a couple parts that I thought were kind of dragging a bit, and so I gave the book 4 stars. I’d recommend the book to anyone who likes their fiction with a few twists and turns. The book was enjoyable from beginning to end, and I’m looking forward to her next book. Thank you to Dafina, Kensington, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. This review is my own honest personal opinion.

Reviewed by Kiera Northington

Get your copy of Playing with Fire today!

Saturday, October 01, 2022

Poet of the Month : K. C. Taylor

 







K. C. Taylor is an educator, author, and independent publisher. Most of her twenty plus years in the classroom has been in the middle grades with a specialty in math and social studies. She is the recipient of 3 teacher of the year awards. K.C. has written and published several young adult books including the independent best seller, Any Possible Outcome: A Book of Urban Tales. She enjoys spending time with family, reading, collecting antique unicorns, and traveling



Sincerely Yours, Mrs. Taylor-Wash, is a creative collage that reflects one teacher's relentless passion for the emotional well-being of all youth. The book is a collection of 100 poems written as letters, short stories, and affirmations. Sincerely Yours, Mrs. Taylor-Wash highlights a wealth of topics including mental health, self-esteem, self-reliance, triumphs and defeats, creativity, spirituality, and home life.



Thursday, July 21, 2022

New Review : Queen of Urban Prophecy : Aya de León

 





5 out of 5 books

Aya de León slayed the story of Queen of Urban Prophecy. From the first word, Aya took me back to the eighties and nineties when the queens of hip hop were making strides in the industry. Her storyline was relatable as well as common as it pertains to her mother and father’s relationship. The turmoil that Deza and her sister Amaru had to endure in their formative years mirrored the life of the great Mary J. Blige.

Deza was humble and upcoming in the rap industry also known as hip hop. Notoriety knocked on her door when she freestyled a rap song about a young lady whom she called by name was gunned down by the police. She was dubbed by the moniker, Queen of Urban Prophecy. Doors opened for Deza. She was given a grand opportunity which she may not have otherwise received if her labelmate hadn’t taken another business opportunity.

Deza dealt with touring, relationships, chasing the love of her mother who cared more about her man than her children, while she stood up for something to keep from falling from everything. Through the ups and downs, Deza remained respectable and stayed true to herself.

I recommend this read to anyone who truly loves hip hop and our female emcees.

Reviewed by Lacha’ J

Get your copy of Queen of Urban Prophecy today!

New Review : Sister Friends Forever : Kimberla Lawson Roby

 




3.5 out of 5 books



I love a good book about friends and when I saw that Kimberla Lawson Roby’s novel SISTER FRIENDS FOREVER was to be released in 2022, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it. The novel centers around four friends: Serena, Michelle, Kenya and Lynette. They are all in their early forties and have known each other since elementary school. Serena and Michelle have taken a vow of celibacy after attending a church conference. Serena is questioning if she will find her Mr. Right as Michelle will soon be united in marriage to her fiance in a few short months. Kenya is happily married with two children. All is perfect in her world with the exception of her husband’s baby mama from hell. Lynette is recently divorced with two teen daughters. She is attempting to rebuild and move on after her divorce with a few interruptions from her ex-husband. With each of them navigating through unexpected situations, their friendship is the one thing they can all count on.

SISTER FRIENDS FOREVER is an interesting and fast-paced read. The plot kept my interest with the surprises and drama. I was invested and  I wanted to see how each of their situations played out. The characters could have been fleshed out more because I didn’t feel the chemistry within the friendships from the ladies, it felt more like four women who know each other and meet up from time to time. Despite the lack of camaraderie, I enjoyed the time I spent with these ladies. 

Reviewed by Paula Allen 

Pre-order your copy of Sister Friends Forever today!


New Review : Bed Stuy : A Love Story : Jerry McGill





4 out of 5 books



BED STUY is a modern day, May/December romance written from a male perspective.  Author Jerry McGill introduces us to Rashid, a young black male, who is a waiter who lacks ambition.  He has also been hired to model for the very famous sculptor Muriel Auslander.  Muriel lives pretty much as a hermit and has a very brooding and miserable disposition. Rashid is able to gauge her moods when he comes to model and adjust his behavior accordingly.  Rashid catches the eye of Rachel, Muriel’s daughter.  Rachel, twenty years his senior, is a musician who is married with two children. 



Rashid and Rachel enter into a clandestine relationship as lovers. Rashid develops strong feelings for Rachel which was surprising seeing that the time they spend together is awkward, dark and depressing. There is no chemistry between the two and  Rashid longs to be included in Rachel’s world but she manages to keep her homelife separate from her secret life with Rashid. As Rachel starts to unravel in depression and substance abuse, Rashid takes notice and starts to question if this is what he wants in life.  Does that include a future with Rachel?

McGill penned a romance that intertwines race, age, substance abuse and trauma. Although the chemistry between the two is lacking, Rashid’s emotions are portrayed in a manner that is raw and touching.  I also enjoyed the growth that he shows as the novel progresses. I found myself rooting for both Rashid and Rachel’s happiness although I felt they did not belong with each other.  BED STUY is a moving, bittersweet tale that will tug at your heart. 
Reviewed by Paula Allen

Coming soon! UrbanReviewsOnline.com presents the 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway

  Coming soon! UrbanReviewsOnline.com presents the 12 Days of Christmas giveaway. From December 12th-December 23rd, there will be a book giv...