Sunday, July 18, 2021

13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest : June 12, 2021 (Virtual)








The 13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest Appearance Schedule
1:00-1:05-Intro- Radiah Hubbert
1:05pm-1:15pm- La Jill Hunt
1:15pm-1:25pm- Jeffery Roshell
1:25pm-1:35pm- Pat Simmons
1:35pm-1:45-Break
1:45pm-1:55pm- Shakir Rashaan
2pm- 3pm- Games & Giveaways
Naleighna Kai
Pat G’Orge-Walker
J.L. Campbell
Stephanie M. Freeman
Karen D. Bradley
J.L. Woodson
Sierra Kay
Marie McKenzie
Solsiré E. Felida
Erica B. Davis
3pm-3:10pm-Break
3:10pm-3:20pm-Donna Hill
3:20pm-3:30pm- Rhonda McKnight
3:30pm-3:40pm- Kendy Ward
3:40pm-3:50pm-Break
3:50pm-4:00pm- Shawneda Crout
4:00pm-4:10pm-Shelia Bell
4:10pm-4:20pm-Untamed
4:20pm-4:30pm-Ebony Farashuu
4:30pm-4:40pm-Bonnie J. Edwards
4:40pm-4:50pm- Kimani Lauren
4:50pm-5pm- Vivian King
5pm-5:10pm-Eve Alexander
5:10-5:15pm-Wrap up

Friday, July 16, 2021

Cover Reveal: I Am Ayah by Donna Hill : Publication date: August 30th 2022

 


I Am Ayah
Donna Hill
Published by: Sideways Books
Publication date: August 30th 2022
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

History and the present collide in this fascinating and poignant new novel from Essence bestselling author Donna Hill.

Full description TBA

Add to Goodreads







Author Bio:

My official writing career began in 1987 when my first short story was published. My first novel, Rooms of the Heart was published in 1990. Since then there have been a slew of books and short stories that I've had published, from romance to women's fiction, chic-lit, erotica and mysteries. I enjoy them all. Three of my novels were adapted for television so that was exciting. I've had the honor of conceptualizing and editing several collections: After the Vows, Midnight Clear, Where There's a Will, Indecent Exposure, and The Hot Spot. I currently teach at Medgar Evers College and live in Brooklyn, NY with my family.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Monday, July 12, 2021

New Review : Island Queen : Vanessa Riley






4 out of 5 books


Prior to reading Island Queen, I was already a Vanessa Riley fan. To say I love historical fiction would be an understatement. I have read other books by her, and think this is her best work yet! Not only was I riveted, (I’m talking stuck in the book and burn your dinner riveted), but I also learned about Dorothy  Kirwan Thomas, “Dolly or Doll” to those who knew her. 


This book is based on Ms. Thomas, a very courageous and strong black woman, who grew up in slavery. She not only bought her freedom, but her family’s as well. Then went on to not only build an empire, she provided a better life for her family.


Although I felt the book was a good read, I wish that Ms. Riley had given us a bit more focus on her familial and business relationships, rather than those of the failed love interests. However, I was still enthralled with the book, which takes place in the 18th century colonial Caribbean, and especially loved learning about Ms. Thomas, who was from the West Indies, as is my family. I’d never heard about her prior to reading this, so I’m glad that I learned something new. 

I would recommend this to anyone who loves historical fiction, loves to read, and loves to learn. I’d have to say, well done, Ms. Riley, well done.


Reviewed by Kiera J. Northington


Get your copy of Island Queen today!

Tuesday, May 04, 2021

Book Reviewers Needed!

 








Book Reviewers Needed!


UrbanReviewsOnline.com is seeking book reviewers for ebooks and physical books for a variety of genres of African American fiction including women’s fiction, romance, street/urban , erotica, mystery/thriller/suspense, historical, Christian, science/speculative fiction. Reviews will be posted on UrbanReviewsOnline.com , Amazon, and Goodreads. We only review books that are no fewer than 100 pages. No exceptions! Here are the requirements in order to be considered:



1.You must provide a copy of a review that you’ve written. It must not contain any spoilers or personal attacks. It must be at least one paragraph.


2. Our rating scale is 1 to 5 books ( 1, 1.5, 2 , 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 4.5, 5). You can’t be afraid to rate a book less than a 3 even if it’s your favorite author.


3. You must complete a book even you don’t like it. Remember, the authors are counting on us to provide a review for their book.


4. Once the book is in your possession for review, you are responsible for providing a review for the book. You are not to pass the book around to your friends, family, social media groups, email lists, or book club members. This is not an opportunity to just get a free book.


5. Please list the genres that you are willing to review. You will be provided with the titles that are available for review so that you can look up that particular book.


6. You can start off by reviewing 1 to 2 books a month.


7. Our focus is African American fiction.


8. Reviewers are not paid for their reviews.



Interested? Please contact Radiah Hubbert at radiah@urban-reviews.com. Thank you!







On the Line with Radiah Hubbert : Julia A. Royston








Radiah: What inspired you to create your own publishing companies?


Julia: First, my father taught school in the day and was an entrepreneur at night.  I saw the power of entrepreneurship and owning my business up close and personal.  Secondly, I admit it and very transparent about having control issues.  Long before the popular phrase of ‘owning your own table rather than begging for a seat at someone else’ table became popular I knew I wanted to own, control and be the visionary of my own company.  


Radiah:  How do you balance running your own publishing company and writing your own books?


Julia: Discipline and a passion for what I write.  I know plenty of publishers who do not write for themselves but just publish other people.  The writing bug bit me and bit me hard.  Additionally, I enjoy teaching from my own books.  It allows me to interject my own voice on a subject as well as leave my own legacy on the subject matter for the next generation.  Believe you me, I don’t write as much as I would like to but I get it in.  Any small window of opportunity, I am writing 95% of the time. My clients come first but remember I was the publishing company’s first client, so I have to remember that and get my books out as well.  


Radiah: Tell us about the Royston Book Fairs and what inspired you to create it.


Julia: I spent 30 years of my career as a librarian in medical, law and corporate libraries prior to coming to school libraries so books have really been my life.  As a school librarian, my school district had a standing contract with a certain huge book fair and I supported it but the brown and black children had very little representation on the covers of the books so they focused on the games or toys in the book fair.  Once I started publishing children’s books and writing them myself, I promised myself that even if I only had 10 titles, I would start a book fair even if it looked like David vs. Goliath.  I was going to do it just so that children could purchase books that represented and had the main character that looked like them.  That is my why.  


Radiah: Tell us about your latest books.


Julia: Because I write in multiple genres, I am normally publishing and releasing multiple books.  Right now I have two children’s books, “The Book Bear” which encourages children to read all types/genres of books and “Where are Granny and Grandpa” which pays tribute to all of the grandparents that we lost during COVID.  I have also released, “Live Your Best Life” which accompanies my Internet Radio Show but also encourages people to live the abundant life right now on this earth.  Up next is “Business in the Digital, Online and Virtual Space” which gives entrepreneurs solutions and ideas about how to run and profit from their business in the virtual space rather than the brick and mortar settings.  


Julia: Where can readers find out more about you and your books?


Readers can find me on social media, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIN and TikTok, Julia A. Royston and my website, www.juliaroyston.net and my online stores of www.roystonroyalbookstore.com or www.juliaroystonstore.com

Sunday, March 07, 2021

New Review : And Now She's Gone : Rachel Howzell Hall

 



5 out of 5 books

Grayson Sykes is a private investigator that has the difficult task of finding a missing woman named Isabel Lincoln. But is Isabel really missing and does she want to be found? Grayson is not sure if she should continue looking for this mystery woman. As she gets deeper into this case, Grayson runs into secrets and dangerous situations that she may not be prepared for. Will Isabel ever be found?


Strange leads, family secrets, and lies is what you’ll find in And Now She’s Gone by Rachel Howzell Hall. Hall pulls you into this book from the very first page. Grayson is a character that you definitely want to see in a future book. Just when you think you have the plot figured out, Hall throws something else in the mix. Good character development and an unexpected plot makes And Now She’s Gone an excellent mystery thriller by Rachel Howzell Hall.


Get your copy of And Now She's Gone today!





New Review: The Peregrine : Che Parker

 




4 out of 5 books

Falcon is a teen girl that does normal things like hanging with her friends and going to school. Her dad has taught her different military tactics so that she can survive on the streets. But when Falcon discovers that she has supernatural powers on her own, her life is changed forever. Will she be able to control her powers and use them to her advantage?


Che Parker has brought us an entertaining tale about a young teen with super powers with The Peregrine. Parker does a good job with telling this story from a teen girl’s point of view. You will feel the excitement and confusion of Falcon as she discovers how she can use her powers. While The Peregrine has a satisfying ending, this book could very well be the start of an interesting series. The Peregrine by Che Parker is a good story for both teens and adults alike. 



Get your copy of The Peregrine today!



Sunday, February 14, 2021

New Review : Scandalous : Nikki Michelle

 



                                                       

  
5 out of 5 books                           
                                                                                                           

                                                 

Saigon (Sai) along with his twin brother Chad are sexy successful criminal defense attorneys. But it’s Sai’s other job that is more exciting. Sai is an after hours male escort for the Gentleman’s Club. He only serves an elite clientele and he loves what he does. He fulfills every carnal desire of a variety of women. Once he’s rocked the world of one client, it’s on to the next one with no strings attached. But Sai’s own world is rocked when Chad reveals a devastating secret. Will Sai ever recover?


Scandalous is the perfect title for this book because that is exactly what you’ll find in this story. Nikki Michelle takes you into the erotic world of a male escort. This story is a quick read filled with titillating sex scenes that will both satisfy readers and leave them begging for more. Scandalous is a good erotic novella to heat up those cold winter nights.

Get your copy of Scandalous today!



Sunday, December 06, 2020

SUBMISSION GUIDELINES - HOW TO GET YOUR BOOK REVIEWED








Submission Guidelines (as of December 6, 2020) -





1. To be considered for a book review, a book description (think Amazon.com or the back of the book), copy of book cover image (if available), AND excerpt of your book must be sent via email to books@urban-reviews.com. Please put the book description in the body of the email. You must submit at least a first chapter excerpt, but feel free to send the first 2 or 3 chapters if available. The excerpt must be a whole chapter, not a paragraph, and not one page. If a full chapter isn't received, then your submission will be rejected. An entire chapter is required so that we can get an accurate feel of the author's writing. If your book is accepted for review, we will email you of our interest and forward our mailing address. We will not send emails asking if the book has been sent or if you have received our initial email asking you to send the book. You will need to be responsible for any follow-ups with us in regards to the status of your book being mailed off and received by us. When submitting your excerpt for review consideration, please do not add books@urban-reviews.com email address to your own promotional mailing list and do not use this email address to send correspondence. This email address is for review submissions only. You may add radiah@urban-reviews.com or info@urban-reviews.com to your mailing lists or to send correspondence.

2. Once accepted, you must submit a review copy of your work, a PDF file, or gift a Kindle e-book copy for review (see E-BOOK GUIDELINES in bullet #9 below). A review copy can be an advanced reader copy or a final retail copy of your novel. If the book has editing issues, it will be reflected in the review as well as the rating for your book. Since we are now accepting PDF files for ebook reviews, we will no longer accept printed manuscripts for review purposes.

3. Any African-American Fiction is acceptable (this includes Contemporary, Christian/Inspirational, Street Lit, Sci-Fi/Speculative, Romance, Young Adult/Teen, Erotica, Mystery/Suspense, etc). Outside of an occasional review for non-fiction that one of our reviewers chooses to review, we are not accepting any inquiries for non-fiction work. We also do not review poetry on our site. However, we do feature a Poetry section on the main page of the website each month at no cost. The section will feature the bookcover of the poetry book, a brief description of the book or poet, and a link to the poet's website. If interested, simply send a short email to poetry@urban-reviews.com and we will let you know if we have chosen to spotlight you.

4. The Urban Reviews rating scale for book reviews are from 1 to 5 . Please be advised that ALL reviews will be posted on our site and on Amazon.com regardless of their rating.

5. Only books that have a page count of 100 pages or more will be considered for book reviews. We also do not accept requests to review an entire series all at one time.  If you want sequels reviewed, you will have to wait until the first book has been reviewed and posted before we consider doing any follow-up books...no exceptions. There must be a direct link to a website/order page for someone to purchase a copy of your book. This includes (but is not limited to) Amazon.com, BN.com, or your own personal site.

6. There may be up to a SIX MONTH WAITING PERIOD for reviews, so inquire accordingly. Also, if your book is slated to be released in the future and you want to have a review the same month your book is released, the possibility of the waiting period being six months STILL applies.

7. Please be patient when it comes to reviewing your work. If it has been three months and we have not posted a review yet, feel free to send us an email to info@urban-reviews.com asking for status at that time.

8. All of the above is not meant to scare anyone off. Please feel free to contact us through email at info@urban-reviews.com (do not send book review requests to this address - refer to the above information for properly submitting book review requests. If chosen for review, we must have a JPEG, PNG or GIF copy of the book cover. We can resize it and host the picture on our site to accompany the review.

9. E-BOOK SUBMISSIONS: You can request to have your ebook reviewed, but it must be in PDF format (although we can convert Word documents to PDF if needed) or gifted as a Kindle e-book to info@urban-reviews.com.  E-books follow the same submission process mentioned above and are subject to the same possibility of a 6-month waiting period.  Since the E-book reviewers may pass on reading your e-book, you must let us know at the time of your original submission request if you want to be considered for review by our reviewers who can only read physical copies.  Upon acceptance, we will let you know if a printed version or an e-book version will be needed.  Do not send the entire e-book until it has been accepted.

To recap, please send the following to books@urban-reviews.com no earlier than 6 months prior to the release date of your book:

-Book Description (think Amazon.com or description on back of book - please put in body of email)
-A minimum of first chapter excerpt (but feel free to send up to 3 chapters)
-Book Cover image (if available)
-Note if book is available on Amazon.com (if not available on Amazon.com, then include a link where it can be ordered or pre-ordered)
-Whether you are able to send a printed retail copy of the book or a PDF e-book version for consideration by our E-book reviewers. (If you want both considered, please mention in your email)


Any Questions? Email us at info@Urban-Reviews.com. We try to answer ALL emails in a timely fashion.  If more than three weeks has passed with no response, please feel free to email us again.

Saturday, November 28, 2020

Black Friday Weekend Sale!

 All book cover ads $20 until 11/29 11:59pm! Contact blackfridaysale@urban-reviews.com!

Tuesday, November 03, 2020

On the Line with Radiah Hubbert : K’wan

  




K’WAN is the best-selling, award-winning author of more thirty novels, including the wildly popular Animal series, Black Lotus, Gangsta, Road Dawgz, Street Dreams, Hoodlum, and Section 8. He has been featured in Vibe, King, Entertainment Weekly, and Time magazine. K’wan was the recipient of the 2012 and 2013 Street Lit Book Award Medals (SLBAM) in adult fiction for Eviction Notice and Animal. His credits also include featured commentary in the documentary Iceberg Slim: Portrait of a Pimp (produced by Ice-T) as well as a recurring role as an analyst on TV One’s Celebrity Crime Files. K’wan resides in New Jersey, where he spends his time writing, cooking, and binge-watching reruns of The Vampire Diaries with his teenage daughters. Black Lotus 2: The Vow is his latest novel.



 Radiah:  Tell us about Black Lotus 2 : The Vow.

K’wan:  Black Lotus 2 picks up a few months after the events in Black Lotus, and right before Kahllah’s character is introduced into the Animal timeline (Animal 2). Our war hardened heroine has decided she’s had enough of living life on the edge and wants to retire and sample the fruits of normalcy. She’s been serving the Brotherhood of Blood since she was a child, and it’s starting to wear on her. She just wants to focus on her magazine “Real Talk” and maybe find a nice guy to settle down with. For a while, it seems like she may have finally gotten out of the game… that’s when a cop turns up dead and her signature calling card is found at the scene; a Black Lotus flower. 

She hasn’t committed this particular murder, but it’s going to be near impossible to prove it to the police; especially her one time rival now turned friend, Detective James Wolf. She becomes a hunted woman and the only way to clear her name is by finding the real killer, which proves to be easier said than done. The person behind the murders isn’t your run of the mill hit man. All signs to point to this being the work of a fellow Brotherhood member, but which one is the question

Radiah: Why did you decide to do a sequel to Black Lotus after so many years?

 K’wan : I’d  always planned on writing more Black Lotus stories. She and the Brotherhood are some of my favorite characters to write about. The reason the follow up took so long was because I had so much other stuff that I needed to get out. I think I released maybe seven or eight other stories between the first and second Black Lotus titles. 


Radiah: Will there be a third installment of  Black Lotus? 


K’wan: Yes...kind of. There are so many rich characters in that world. Some of the characters the readers have met and others they haven’t.


 Radiah: Do you prefer to write stand alone novels or novels that are a part of a series and why?


K’wan: That all depends. At the beginning of my career I refused to write sequels. All of my early works were standalone until the Hood Rat series. Even with those, it wasn’t actually a series but several stand alone novels with overlapping characters. I think standalone vs series all depends on where my head is at the time. In other cases I’ve found that sometimes there’s too much for me to say in a single story. 


Radiah: Can you give us a sneak peek at what you’re working on now?


K’wan:  I’m finishing up “The Reluctant King,” “Broken Promise,” and of course gearing up to release Animal 5. In addition I’ve gotten back working on my paranormal stuff.I am doing ALOT right now.  


Radiah: If a reader just discovered your books, which book would you recommend that they start with and why?


K’wan:  I always tell readers to start at the beginning with “Gangsta.” Of course, everybody loves Animal, but it was Lou-Loc who started it all.


Radiah : Where can readers find out more about you and your novels?


K’wan: I’m working on revamping my website Kwanwrites.com, which seems like its taking forever. Readers can also find me on my social media : Instagram: Kwan_Iamlegend, Twitter: KwanTheWriter and facebook. My personal page is Kwan Writes and my author page is Kwan The Writer. If all else fails, google me and my wiki page will probably pop up

13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest : June 12, 2021 (Virtual)

The 13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest Appearance Schedule 1:00-1:05-Intro- Radiah Hubbert 1:05pm-1:15pm- La Jill Hunt 1:15pm-1:25pm- Jeffe...