Wednesday, September 29, 2021

New Contest : Street Banditz : C.J. Hudson : CONTEST EXTENDED UNTIL TONIGHT!!! 9/30/21!!!










Win a physical copy of Street Banditz by C. J. Hudson. Send your name & address to streetbanditz@urban-reviews.com by 8pm (cst) 9/30/21(TONIGHT)!!!




Winner of The Violet Rose : Charmyra E. Fleming!

 




Congratulations to Olivia Shaw-Reel! She won a copy of The Violet Rose by Charmyra E. Fleming! 

Monday, September 27, 2021

New Contest: The Violet Rose : Charmyra E. Fleming

 






Win a physical copy of The Violet Rose by Charmyra E. Fleming. Email your name & address to: violet@urban-reviews.com by 8pm (cst) 9/28/21!!! (TONIGHT )  Good luck!


Saturday, September 25, 2021

New Review : Door to Your Heart : Bianca L. Eugene






 

                                                                   4 out of 5 books

                                                            



Venice Valentine and Xavier Black are two different sides of a coin stuck on the West Side of Detroit, Michigan hustling to achieve their dreams of a better future for themselves. Venice struggles to keep open the neighborhood daycare her beloved grandmother who raised her ran for years. She's down to one adorable child whose attractive father makes his interest in Venice clear. Xavier is in the Game. He's a dangerous man who wants more stability and safety for his son than he had as a child. 

Nurse and entrepreneur Venice is a good woman with an edge who isn't intimidated by him, and he wants her—forever. Xavier’s witty dialogue charms as it rings with layered meanings and authenticity. 


Smoldering sexual chemistry, family drama, dynamic secondary characters, issues of social class plus cultural touch points regarding colorism, toxic masculinity, life's pursuits impacted by gender, ethnicity, and economics make Door to Your Heart a one-sitting read. It's also an homage to Detroit in general and the West Side in particular. From 8 Mile to the North and the Detroit River to the South, the music, food, energy, complexity, and stamina of its people receive acknowledgement and respect. It's ending suggests that Venice and Xavier’s story is just beginning. 


Reviewed by Cardyn Brooks


Order your copy of Door to Your Heart today!



New Review : The Violet Rose : Charmyra E. Fleming

 



                                                                        
                                                                     3 out of 5 books
                                                                   


As an avid reader, I have seen many examples of what works and what doesn’t in the world of fiction.  I also typically avoid romance stories as I find them formulaic, very “plug and play” with little to no originality or creativity.  Charmyra E. Fleming’s The Violet Rose not only avoids these trappings, it pulls together a story that works on multiple levels.


 


From the main character to those that surround her, this novella is full of rich, deep characters that are also relatable.  The plot goes everywhere except where you think it will so there is no predictability to suffer through.  You will root for your favorites and against their nemeses from the beginning to the end of the story.  Fleming has managed to wring fresh ideas and scenes out of a typically overwrought world, showcasing what an up-and-coming generation of authors have to bring to the genre.  And if you are a Prince fan as I am, you will enjoy the nods to His Royal Badness throughout the text and by the end, you’ll want to flip right back to the beginning to catch any clues and subtleties you might have missed.  I have never seen a romance tale described as a page-tuner, but that’s exactly what this one is.  And once you start turning these pages, you won’t ever want to stop!



Reviewed by Denise Ervin


Order Your Copy of The Violet Rose today!




New Review : Street Banditz : C.J. Hudson

 






                                                                    4 out of 5 books




First off, let me start by saying this isn't your typical "hood book". Yes, it takes place in the hood, but it has more than just guns & drugs, if you will. The characters have depth and are relatable. You either know someone like them, or you were (are) them. 


This book made me laugh so hard in places at some of the characters' antics, (I absolute love Ivory). Other places made me almost cry and want to cuss. (If I ever meet up with Janice, it's an immediate misunderstanding on sight!) The mother in me wanted to reach out into the book and hug Hakim and shake some sense into him. Tammy, she's my girl, I admire her spunk and determination. And watch out for Red, with his dirty *ss, he knows he was wrong for that!


All in all, I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a "hood" book with a fast pace, hard to put down, drama filled tale. Author CJ Hudson definitely did not come to play with Street Banditz. I can't wait to find out what happens in part 2.


Reviewed by Kiera J. Worthington



Order your copy of Street Banditz today!







Friday, September 24, 2021

New Review : Road Trip : Electa Rome Parks and Monica Garner

 


5 out of 5 books



Road Trip is about Arlington Harper and Delilah Jackson who are two good friends that are recently divorced. Both of them are trying their best to navigate through this new life. Arlington & Delilah decided to take a road trip to get away from it all. But will they survive the twists and turns of this journey?


In End of the Road, Arlington is a bestselling novelist who is trying to get over her divorce and writer’s block. She plans her getaway to a small town to relax and write. Arlington stumbles upon a salacious offer during her vacation. Is she willing to throw caution to the wind?


In Saint City, Delilah is an officer who is on her way to becoming a detective. Finding a man is the last thing on her mind. Delilah runs into a sexy stranger while on a road trip with her sister. She is intrigued by this man but will his complicated background send her packing?


Road Trip a sexy story by Electa Rome Parks & Monica Garner. Parks & Garner brings the tale of two friends that are separated into two short stories. Each story is deeply satisfying and very erotic. These authors did a good job of telling two complete stories with sound conclusions. However, readers will want to see these characters in another book in the future. Road Trip is the perfect book to steam up your nights. 


Reviewed by Radiah Hubbert


Order your copy of Road Trip today!

                                                                                                  


 












Sunday, July 18, 2021

13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest : June 12, 2021 (Virtual)








The 13th Annual Great Midwest Book Fest Appearance Schedule
1:00-1:05-Intro- Radiah Hubbert
1:05pm-1:15pm- La Jill Hunt
1:15pm-1:25pm- Jeffery Roshell
1:25pm-1:35pm- Pat Simmons
1:35pm-1:45-Break
1:45pm-1:55pm- Shakir Rashaan
2pm- 3pm- Games & Giveaways
Naleighna Kai
Pat G’Orge-Walker
J.L. Campbell
Stephanie M. Freeman
Karen D. Bradley
J.L. Woodson
Sierra Kay
Marie McKenzie
Solsiré E. Felida
Erica B. Davis
3pm-3:10pm-Break
3:10pm-3:20pm-Donna Hill
3:20pm-3:30pm- Rhonda McKnight
3:30pm-3:40pm- Kendy Ward
3:40pm-3:50pm-Break
3:50pm-4:00pm- Shawneda Crout
4:00pm-4:10pm-Shelia Bell
4:10pm-4:20pm-Untamed
4:20pm-4:30pm-Ebony Farashuu
4:30pm-4:40pm-Bonnie J. Edwards
4:40pm-4:50pm- Kimani Lauren
4:50pm-5pm- Vivian King
5pm-5:10pm-Eve Alexander
5:10-5:15pm-Wrap up

Friday, July 16, 2021

Cover Reveal: I Am Ayah by Donna Hill : Publication date: August 30th 2022

 


I Am Ayah
Donna Hill
Published by: Sideways Books
Publication date: August 30th 2022
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance

History and the present collide in this fascinating and poignant new novel from Essence bestselling author Donna Hill.

Full description TBA

Add to Goodreads







Author Bio:

My official writing career began in 1987 when my first short story was published. My first novel, Rooms of the Heart was published in 1990. Since then there have been a slew of books and short stories that I've had published, from romance to women's fiction, chic-lit, erotica and mysteries. I enjoy them all. Three of my novels were adapted for television so that was exciting. I've had the honor of conceptualizing and editing several collections: After the Vows, Midnight Clear, Where There's a Will, Indecent Exposure, and The Hot Spot. I currently teach at Medgar Evers College and live in Brooklyn, NY with my family.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram


Hosted by:
XBTBanner1

Monday, July 12, 2021

New Review : Island Queen : Vanessa Riley






4 out of 5 books


Prior to reading Island Queen, I was already a Vanessa Riley fan. To say I love historical fiction would be an understatement. I have read other books by her, and think this is her best work yet! Not only was I riveted, (I’m talking stuck in the book and burn your dinner riveted), but I also learned about Dorothy  Kirwan Thomas, “Dolly or Doll” to those who knew her. 


This book is based on Ms. Thomas, a very courageous and strong black woman, who grew up in slavery. She not only bought her freedom, but her family’s as well. Then went on to not only build an empire, she provided a better life for her family.


Although I felt the book was a good read, I wish that Ms. Riley had given us a bit more focus on her familial and business relationships, rather than those of the failed love interests. However, I was still enthralled with the book, which takes place in the 18th century colonial Caribbean, and especially loved learning about Ms. Thomas, who was from the West Indies, as is my family. I’d never heard about her prior to reading this, so I’m glad that I learned something new. 

I would recommend this to anyone who loves historical fiction, loves to read, and loves to learn. I’d have to say, well done, Ms. Riley, well done.


Reviewed by Kiera J. Northington


Get your copy of Island Queen today!

Tuesday, May 04, 2021

Book Reviewers Needed!

 








Book Reviewers Needed!


UrbanReviewsOnline.com is seeking book reviewers for ebooks and physical books for a variety of genres of African American fiction including women’s fiction, romance, street/urban , erotica, mystery/thriller/suspense, historical, Christian, science/speculative fiction. Reviews will be posted on UrbanReviewsOnline.com , Amazon, and Goodreads. We only review books that are no fewer than 100 pages. No exceptions! Here are the requirements in order to be considered:



1.You must provide a copy of a review that you’ve written. It must not contain any spoilers or personal attacks. It must be at least one paragraph.


2. Our rating scale is 1 to 5 books ( 1, 1.5, 2 , 2.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 4.5, 5). You can’t be afraid to rate a book less than a 3 even if it’s your favorite author.


3. You must complete a book even you don’t like it. Remember, the authors are counting on us to provide a review for their book.


4. Once the book is in your possession for review, you are responsible for providing a review for the book. You are not to pass the book around to your friends, family, social media groups, email lists, or book club members. This is not an opportunity to just get a free book.


5. Please list the genres that you are willing to review. You will be provided with the titles that are available for review so that you can look up that particular book.


6. You can start off by reviewing 1 to 2 books a month.


7. Our focus is African American fiction.


8. Reviewers are not paid for their reviews.



Interested? Please contact Radiah Hubbert at radiah@urban-reviews.com. Thank you!







On the Line with Radiah Hubbert : Julia A. Royston








Radiah: What inspired you to create your own publishing companies?


Julia: First, my father taught school in the day and was an entrepreneur at night.  I saw the power of entrepreneurship and owning my business up close and personal.  Secondly, I admit it and very transparent about having control issues.  Long before the popular phrase of ‘owning your own table rather than begging for a seat at someone else’ table became popular I knew I wanted to own, control and be the visionary of my own company.  


Radiah:  How do you balance running your own publishing company and writing your own books?


Julia: Discipline and a passion for what I write.  I know plenty of publishers who do not write for themselves but just publish other people.  The writing bug bit me and bit me hard.  Additionally, I enjoy teaching from my own books.  It allows me to interject my own voice on a subject as well as leave my own legacy on the subject matter for the next generation.  Believe you me, I don’t write as much as I would like to but I get it in.  Any small window of opportunity, I am writing 95% of the time. My clients come first but remember I was the publishing company’s first client, so I have to remember that and get my books out as well.  


Radiah: Tell us about the Royston Book Fairs and what inspired you to create it.


Julia: I spent 30 years of my career as a librarian in medical, law and corporate libraries prior to coming to school libraries so books have really been my life.  As a school librarian, my school district had a standing contract with a certain huge book fair and I supported it but the brown and black children had very little representation on the covers of the books so they focused on the games or toys in the book fair.  Once I started publishing children’s books and writing them myself, I promised myself that even if I only had 10 titles, I would start a book fair even if it looked like David vs. Goliath.  I was going to do it just so that children could purchase books that represented and had the main character that looked like them.  That is my why.  


Radiah: Tell us about your latest books.


Julia: Because I write in multiple genres, I am normally publishing and releasing multiple books.  Right now I have two children’s books, “The Book Bear” which encourages children to read all types/genres of books and “Where are Granny and Grandpa” which pays tribute to all of the grandparents that we lost during COVID.  I have also released, “Live Your Best Life” which accompanies my Internet Radio Show but also encourages people to live the abundant life right now on this earth.  Up next is “Business in the Digital, Online and Virtual Space” which gives entrepreneurs solutions and ideas about how to run and profit from their business in the virtual space rather than the brick and mortar settings.  


Julia: Where can readers find out more about you and your books?


Readers can find me on social media, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, LinkedIN and TikTok, Julia A. Royston and my website, www.juliaroyston.net and my online stores of www.roystonroyalbookstore.com or www.juliaroystonstore.com

Sunday, March 07, 2021

New Review : And Now She's Gone : Rachel Howzell Hall

 



5 out of 5 books

Grayson Sykes is a private investigator that has the difficult task of finding a missing woman named Isabel Lincoln. But is Isabel really missing and does she want to be found? Grayson is not sure if she should continue looking for this mystery woman. As she gets deeper into this case, Grayson runs into secrets and dangerous situations that she may not be prepared for. Will Isabel ever be found?


Strange leads, family secrets, and lies is what you’ll find in And Now She’s Gone by Rachel Howzell Hall. Hall pulls you into this book from the very first page. Grayson is a character that you definitely want to see in a future book. Just when you think you have the plot figured out, Hall throws something else in the mix. Good character development and an unexpected plot makes And Now She’s Gone an excellent mystery thriller by Rachel Howzell Hall.


Get your copy of And Now She's Gone today!





New Review: The Peregrine : Che Parker

 




4 out of 5 books

Falcon is a teen girl that does normal things like hanging with her friends and going to school. Her dad has taught her different military tactics so that she can survive on the streets. But when Falcon discovers that she has supernatural powers on her own, her life is changed forever. Will she be able to control her powers and use them to her advantage?


Che Parker has brought us an entertaining tale about a young teen with super powers with The Peregrine. Parker does a good job with telling this story from a teen girl’s point of view. You will feel the excitement and confusion of Falcon as she discovers how she can use her powers. While The Peregrine has a satisfying ending, this book could very well be the start of an interesting series. The Peregrine by Che Parker is a good story for both teens and adults alike. 



Get your copy of The Peregrine today!



Sunday, February 14, 2021

New Review : Scandalous : Nikki Michelle

 



                                                       

  
5 out of 5 books                           
                                                                                                           

                                                 

Saigon (Sai) along with his twin brother Chad are sexy successful criminal defense attorneys. But it’s Sai’s other job that is more exciting. Sai is an after hours male escort for the Gentleman’s Club. He only serves an elite clientele and he loves what he does. He fulfills every carnal desire of a variety of women. Once he’s rocked the world of one client, it’s on to the next one with no strings attached. But Sai’s own world is rocked when Chad reveals a devastating secret. Will Sai ever recover?


Scandalous is the perfect title for this book because that is exactly what you’ll find in this story. Nikki Michelle takes you into the erotic world of a male escort. This story is a quick read filled with titillating sex scenes that will both satisfy readers and leave them begging for more. Scandalous is a good erotic novella to heat up those cold winter nights.

Get your copy of Scandalous today!



New Contest : Street Banditz : C.J. Hudson : CONTEST EXTENDED UNTIL TONIGHT!!! 9/30/21!!!

Win a physical copy of Street Banditz by C. J. Hudson. Send your name & address to streetbanditz@urban-reviews.com by 8pm (cst) 9/30/21(...