Sunday, February 14, 2010

NEW REVIEW: Roland S. Jefferson - White Coat Fever

White Coat Fever: A novel
Roland S. Jefferson -
White Coat Fever -
Available Now! -

4 out of 5 books -

September Johnson grew up under an African-American noblige society in 1960s Los Angeles. In her world, September was destined to marry her debutante escort Bennyboy after she completed nursing school in Wisconsin and he completed medical school at Howard in D.C. But when distance and self-discovery change their priorities, will they find themselves back to each other before Aiyana Crawford, a woman sick with white coat fever, changes their lives?

Jefferson writes a compelling cinematic family saga. However, it was challenging in spots, particularly on the part of Aiyana. Although her purpose was obsviously to be the catalyst that draws September and Bennyboy apart, she becomes this gender stereotypical witch/puppet master who makes them do what she wants them to do until some miracle revelation by the hero forces him to change his mind about her. The story would have had more depth if the novel explored September and Bennyboy's own personal challenges and self-discoveries that drew them apart instead of focusing more on the gold-digger than the two main characters we want to root for.

Moreover, the way in which this book was written made it hard to care about Bennyboy and September. What was September's motivation? What was her conflict? What universal appeal about her would make a reader care about her? Although she was physically described very well, where was her heart? I really wanted to care what happened to her, but I couldn't. The story was written as if she was in a glass box, and for a reader we need to experience and feel for September.

Overall, White Coat Fever by Roland S. Jefferson had great potential to be a lovely romance, but as I said before, there was something off with the character's story arc. I believe this story is great for readers who like Norma Jarrett's Sweet Magnolia, Dedra Jackson's Sandrines Letter to Tomorrow and Walter Mosley's The Man in My Basement.

Reviewed by Dee Stewart for Urban Reviews
Order your copy of White Coat Fever: A novel today!

No comments: